I feel like my niches are too far-fetched and no one will be interested O.O

in #diary6 years ago

I love to write, and I love to talk about things that interest me. And I have lots of things that interest me. But I feel that everything I think about every day is so far away from what people care about. I've been writing a lot today, spent hours developing topics that later on I didn't feel like publishing.

Here's a peek at the titles:

image.png

It's frustraaatinngg. I know I shouldn't care. I should just post whatever I want and let the readers decide if they care or not. And that's probably what you'll say in the comments. But, I don't know, maybe I care too much about some idealisation of my image.

There are many Steem profiles that I visit and then immediately leave thinking "welp, that's not something I'd ever read about", and I don't want to be that person for most people. I want to be accessible and interesting.

But most of what I used to write is already burnt out. I couldn't write most of it again even if I wanted. My brain has pulled a lever and closed that stage of my life, either permanently or temporarily. I find that whereas before I could find something to write about all the time, now I struggle to find something that will be of "universal interest" that I want to write about.

Every day, I find myself immersed more and more in programming. But most people don't have the same programming problems as I do. That's why there are Github repos and even there, the only people talking and reading about each project are people who share one specific problem. I seriously doubt that if I post a solution to a rare problem here, I'll find a group of readers who are interested in that specific thing I'm talking about.

Maybe I can make people interested by narrating the problems and the solutions. But I don't know. Aaaah.

dies

Another problem I'm having is that there are many topics I just can't talk about. I censor myself, justifiably, because I think that people will misinterpret what I say, or maybe correctly interpret it and hate me anyway.

I don't even know what I'm doing right now. "Hey, people, there are thoughts in my head!".

What would be some interesting topics to write about?

I could maybe go to Pixabay or Unsplash, grab some images and talk about them. I could add positive and negative criticism about the aspects, and my opinion about them. That would be cool.

I can also mention that I'm looking into buying a phone! I have around $130 that I can spend and I've been without a phone since early 2016 when I got mugged (terribly tragic and sad event). I don't know what phone I can buy for that amount, though. Everything seems terribly low-quality. I'm not very happy about how little I can spend, but I also don't want to be wasteful and exchange savings for an expensive piece of equipment that will probably break down or be lost soon enough.

I like strawberries. There is something we call "batido de fresa", which is not a strawberry milkshake, even though it's translated as such on the internet. You grab strawberries, ice, sugar, put them all in a blender and turn it on. Bzzzzzz. When you take it out, it's a crunchy strawberry "shake" (what's the name? frappé?). That's my favourite drink. Now you know something about me.


Pixabay strawberries

Sort:  

Well if you're worried about having an audience that cares about the same topics as you do, the obvious solution that comes to mind is to go out and network a bit -- find articles on the same topic that you're interested in and comment on them. People who are open to productive interactions will respond to you and you'd be surprised how many are willing to take a look at what you're doing yourself. You could join a community or two through discord, if you're a chatty person, that's sure to help too :)

Regarding phones:
I don't have the slightest idea what the price markup on phones in Venezuela is right now, but in regions with reasonable pricing you could get some variety of Samsung J7 (which I'm somewhat familiar with -- fine phone, I assure you) or one of the generation 5 Motorolas (my own workhorse G4 still serves me well, even if the camera feels stone age compared to the likes of J7).

There are many Steem profiles that I visit and then immediately leave thinking "welp, that's not something I'd ever read about", and I don't want to be that person for most people. I want to be accessible and interesting.

You should write about stuff that you find interesting, otherwise you won't enjoy writing, and people will follow you for something you don't really believe in. Write for yourself first! If other people like it, that's a bonus.

Well, I try to find the outer fringe, the point where I'm interested in what I'm writing about, and the readers are interested too. There are some of those things. I used to be more interested in those topics, but now they are becoming very limited. But that doesn't mean that I don't find them interesting, it's just that they are crossing the line of "shitposts", to the point where people might soon start flagging me if I don't hold my fingery-doos.

Hola, me encanta mucho leerte! Siempre es una lectura que me lleva hasta el final del post y vale la pena, evidentemente no he leído sobre los temas de programación porque evidentemente no tengo los problemas que presentas, al igual que tú descartó post incluso solo con el título, imagino que le pasa a todos, en fin, supongo que encontrar una audiencia, alimentarla y mantenerla no es sencillo. Yo estoy en algo similar, pero ese es otro tema. El punto es que steemit tiene una cadencia específica. Me refiero a que Twitter son cosas inmediatas, Github son cosas eternas, facebook son cosas diarias, y steemit va definiendo su histeresis. Una vez más gracias por tus textos, te escribo en español porque hay cosas como "batido de fresa" que no se decir en inglés. 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

There are many Steem profiles that I visit and then immediately leave thinking "welp, that's not something I'd ever read about"

Well, I have visited some profiles, and I think, "Is seriously? Photos about flowers and plants, who the hell care?". Then I see the reward of those publications and they are quite high. So everything in Steemit is random.

The most difficult thing is to find the motivation to write something, if you have something to say, and you have motivation to write it, then do it. Or so I think.

I'll just post a quote.

I wanted to make the earth a paradise for everyone. I made it hell for me.
Simón Rodríguez

That is what happens when you seek acceptance in others, and not in yourself.

I really enjoy your dream blogging. I wish I had that kind of recall...
It would be really cool for Steem to have more of a dream sharing and discussion community...

Posted using Partiko Android

:) I always read and comment on the dreams tag.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73