The Heroes In Our Time - April 6|Day #6 - Diary of The Struggling Writer from Ife

in #diary6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180331_202354_033.jpg

Dear Diary

Two days ago, I mentioned that I had found two poems in an old book. I posted the first one, titled The Palm and now, I am posting the second.

I actually have a couple of thoughts on my head: heroes, survival, Steemit and writers and a few others. But my muse isn’t in the mood and my attempts to rouse her is giving me a headache. Like the other poem, this doesn’t have a title. I gave it one though: The Heroes In Our Time

Enjoy

The Heroes In Our Time

The cold slices in bit

Small chunks off her words

Words bereft of warmth beneath

The blanket raised to her chin



Her face cast in cold colours

Bright eyes defying the freeze

Her throat plastered by ice

Firing words murdered in cold



Left among the snow to die

Driven by frost to her knees

Her blanket fall off in betrayal

The cold bites her naked skin



Words chopped by scathing cold

Whispered from a frost-filled throat

whispering, whimpering and crying

For help, warmth and love

There is still one more verse to this poem. However, I would like to say a few words here. I can’t remember why I wrote this poem, but I remember that most of my poems written a few years back were indirect commentaries on my life. If I felt a particular emotion or experience something, I would write about it, albeit with a different setting and sometimes using the opposite gender.

At the time, I was struggling with Christianity. Now, I am an atheist. Then, I believed in God’s power to save and all that stuff. I was also struggling with depression, insecurity and self-acceptance within. I can’t say it’s all gone now but it’s surely better. In the last stanza (which is right below), God was the hero. I’m inclined to rewrite the poem, at least the last stanza. But my muse isn’t in the mood so I’ll just drop it as it is.

The Maker sits on His throne

And causes the pen to write

That her prayer was heard

And the righteous ones did help

As you can see from the last stanza, though I ‘believed’ in God, I was certain that human effort was needed. I think I am still that same guy who wrote the poem. I had trouble always referencing God when it was obvious that humans were the real heroes, even more so then the ‘heroes’ weren't Christians. I am talking about those who take a stand against injustice, those who are sensitive to the emotions, feelings and experiences of others. Those who always lend a helping hand.

The heroes in our time are those who take a stand. Someone once said evil prevail because good people refuse to do anything about it. To that I say amen.

When You Stretch out, What Do You Find? - April 5|Day #5 - Diary of The Struggling Writer from Ife

The Palm - April 4|Day #4 - Diary of The Struggling Writer from Ife

The Introduction Is Everything - April 3|Day #3 - Diary of The Struggling Writer from Ife

Gratitude - April 2|Day #2 - Diary of The Struggling Writer from Ife

Season of Crimson Blossoms - April 1|Day #1 - Diary of The Struggling Writer from Ife

Thanks for reading

Blessings

[Image Source: I took the picture with my phone and edited it]

Sort:  

I am a poet and I find this very interesting....you applied so much literary mechanism in producing this poem.....I did enjoyed it and I anticipate more

"The Maker sits on His throne

And causes the pen to write

That her prayer was heard

And the righteous ones did help"

I really love this part

Thanks a lot for your encouraging comment

Blessings

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

I would rate you "very good".

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by IamTheGray from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations!,@iamthegray Your post has been upvoted by Reach Out, which is proudly sponsored by @eturnerx. Our goal is to support Nigerian minnows on Steemit. Join our discord group https://discord.gg/NWAkKfn

Benefactor : @bleepcoin

Curator On Duty: Richie, the Manual Bot

We invite you to the @eoscafe community [https://discord.gg/wdUnCdE]

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.23$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61560.41
ETH 2894.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61