Ketogenic + Intermittent Fasting = Lose Fat, Build Muscle & Increase Energy!

in #diet7 years ago (edited)

I have been on a strict Ketogenic + Intermittent fasting diet for the past two weeks and already I have lost 15 pounds! That's like a pound a day. I feel great, loads of energy. Recently started boxing again after 3-4 years of inactivity. Back then I would always feel tired, never had the motivation to work out, now, thats all I feel like doing!

I mostly do jump-rope, shadow-boxing, bag-work and some push-ups and sit-ups on occasions. I will continue to introduce more workouts to my daily regimen, once my stamina and strength increases.

My journey began at 210lbs - fast forward two weeks! Stepped into the scale this morning to see 195lbs pop up on the digital scale. Great feeling! Going to continue pushing for another 40 pounds or so. I am 5,6" so pretty short to be 195lbs! But, I do have a wide frame. So depends on how I feel when I reach that weight goal and modify accordingly.

I have done many diets over the years and never have I been able to sustain them, I would lose weight on some diets only to gain it all back, because I never looked forward to cooking. Keto meals are easy to make & super delicious. Your body was designed to love fat! Who doesn't love fat?

You will feel full longer. Once in ketosis: your body will switch from glucose as its energy source to fat and this will allow you to shed pounds effortlessly!

In the Paleolithic era our ancestors would provide for themselves by hunting and gathering although there were more hunting done than gathering; because as we all know meat is a year long food supply and fruits on the other hand are seasonal, at least in those times they were. So we evolved eating fat. It's my belief that if it wasn't for fat we wouldn't be here today. Our homo-sapien bodies were designed with two types of energy sources: glucose and fat. It has been proven that your brain runs better on fat! The brain is made up of 40% fat! Why exclude it from our diets or worse from our brains! Its a life essential nutrient. Our body requires essential fatty acids and essential amino acids for survival. We need fat and protein!

Thats why you'll never hear someone say essential carbs! Carbs are not essential because our body produces it - through a process called gluconeogenises. As long as you have fat and protein - you're good! But also, eat lots of green veggies it goes great with meat, it helps it digest better.

That's just a quick summary of what I learned about the ketogenic diet. There are so many positive reasons why almost everyone should go on keto! Read the book, link below!

Calorie restriction or Intermittent fasting allows your body to age slower through a process called: Autophagy the process in which cells reproduce and work on renewing themselves.

Combine these 2 magical diets and watch those pounds vanish.

Here's a list on these awesome books on Ketogenic and Intermittent fasting and how these 2 diets combined could work magic on your body, like so was the case for me. Check them out and see how beneficial they could be to your overall health & well being.


https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0744GMHSQ/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B0744GMHSQ&linkCode=as2&tag=rico01f-20&linkId=fd77c18b76d0cc1d11cefe1778b0d8e5


https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01MF8SC2X/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B01MF8SC2X&linkCode=as2&tag=rico01f-20&linkId=a5d283349e727825d101e5451e2dc3df

Thanks for tuning in. Until next time.... peace! ✌

Sort:  

PSA: NOT BASHING ANYONE ON KETO! I honestly have a problem with the keto diet and here's why: diet=restriction and why be afraid of carbs? Carbs from fruits and veggies are nothing to be afraid of! All fruits and veggies provide micronutrients that your body needs. A lot of people on keto eat a ton of cheese and dairy, but don't eat enough fruits and veggies. To me that seems strange. A diet can also make people feel restricted, which could later cause them to binge. It needs o be a lifestyle to be maintainable, am I alone in my opinion? Anyone else agree?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60845.74
ETH 2912.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67