Low-fat diet

in #diet8 years ago

I've been studying Dr. Esselstyn's book "Prevent & Reverse Heart Disease", and have watched his lecture. Of all the books/lectures onthe benefits ofa plant based diet for generalhealth, I believe his is the most compelling. He says that coronary artery disease "need not ever exist"! Holy cow, what a statement. But he proves it well citing many of his patients, one of whom was on the heart transplant list, now completely cured.

He also says what all of the other doctors claim that treat their patients with nutrition instead of drugs and surgery, that when you eat a heart healthy diet, that is a LOW FAT plant based diet, you also cure diabetes and a whole host of the other diseases of affluence, including cancer. And he is clear on the question of whether or not oil, any oil, is healthy, and the answer is a resounding NO. He shouts from the stage "No oil, no oil, no oil!!". It doesn't get any clearer than that.

He illustrates with photographs the before and after of coronary arteries treated with his version of the low fat plant based lifestyle. It's miraculous, and the most compelling message is that our health lies truly in our own hands - what we put into our mouths has a direct correlation to our ultimate health, period.

I have also taken advantage of the services offered by Dr. Alona Pulde at www.exsalus.com . Her book "Keep it Simple Keep it Whole" is another great book and quick read that helps you get started and stay on track. I had two consultations with her over the phone. She analyzed my food diaries and tweaked my diet a bit to enable me to finally start shedding the pounds I have gained since starting my hormone therapy a year ago for breast cancer. Her solution was simple but effective: eat mostly veggies and beans, minimize starches, NO OIL or added fat of any kind, and exercise. I recommend her to anyone that seeks a healthy eating program designed just for them.

Take a look at a preview of the movie coming out at the end of the summer, starring Dr. Campbell and Dr. Esselstyn www.forksoverknives.com . It will premiere for a small group in Washington DC later this month. I think this will cause many people to change the way they eat.

My husband and I have been eating a plant based diet for over a year now, and I can say that it really hasn't been difficult, just different. We have simply re-learned what to eat, and our food preferences have totally changed along with our tastebuds. My husband weighs what he did in college (he is 61 years old), feels great, his blood pressure is normal, and his blood tests are better than they have been in 35 years.

My brother, a diabetic, has been about 80% "pure" over the past year, but over the past 3 plus weeks, he has followed Dr. Esselstyn's plan faithfully. He has shed 8 pounds and reduced his insullin by over 20% so far. He is also leading a group of friends, all of wholm have heart issues, diabetes or obesity, encouraging them while they adopt a heart healthy diet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 67205.80
ETH 3112.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71