My LARP / DnD Character! [ Short Story + Drawings]

in #digital6 years ago (edited)

Hello people!
I am back from the depths of no Internet!

This week has been rather hectic with me moving places, and organizing a new living space. Thankfully, now I have internet to keep on posting, and making art.

I want to introduce you today to my 'shapeshifting' LARP + DnD character. (Yes, because I have used him under various circumstances over time and he's become two different things. I'll explain...)


First of all, for those who don't know what LARP is, it stands for Live Action Role Playing.

To dumb it down, it's basically DnD / a medieval video game in real life. You create a character with stats, you level up and gain abilities. You can also interact with NPCs (Usually volunteers or the admins) and get quests. You also get to fight with foam weapons (don't be fooled! They still hurt!). People usually go to these events either for PvP or Role Play (or even both - but I have to admit I'm mostly in for Role Play).


My character's name is Atlas. It all started with me wanting to play him for a LARP campaign happening back in 2014 during the summer. I had thought of him before, but not really as a playable character. More just of an OC.

This is the first sketch of him:

Atlas.jpg

I then put every effort into making him a reality. This is what I came up with:

tumblr_nbk0r1zkJP1rowqqho3_500.jpg

I ended up only playing him once that summer, unfortunately. I moved all the way to Australia for personal reasons. And so, in Australia, I had no friends, and no LARPS to go to. I ended up creating a small DnD group, and I thought it would be a good idea to play Atlas to develop his character a little bit more. I mean, why not, right?

So I played him once, as a simple pirate. I changed his look a little bit:

a dood.JPG
Lineart

atl.JPG
Flat Colo

Atlas2.jpg
Finished Piece

And then after that, I forgot about him for a little while. Until I got another DnD group probably 1 year later. I decided it would be interesting to play him as a very charismatic bard. Unfortunately he couldn't be human because of the DM's rules. I opted to make him a tiefling.

19275224_1820926818223049_3019124205844209441_n.jpg

Currently, this is is DnD universe "look". However, in the LARP universe he pretty much stayed the same.
I was lucky enough to attend two LARPS in the past couple months, and he looked quite different (mostly because of my hair I must say).

20157785_10208148151815180_6377228903623172452_o.jpg
Our LARP group. Including Myself and my very good friends
In Order, Merlin, Atlas, Dorian, Vali

IMG_1123.jpg
Our group in-game

IMG_1099.jpg
In-game 2

20121363_10208145398186341_6932048104770330620_o.jpg
Atlas (myself) and Merlin, played by one of my good friends

IMG_1253.jpg
Merlin Atlas 2

IMG_1252.jpg
Atlas the drunkard

IMG_1534.jpg
Bonfire, the tradition at our 24hr LARPs

20637879_10214168844324125_711998672956887212_n.jpg
Atlas and the fire chimney

I want to do more posts about LARP-ing, but I haven't seen any yet on Steemit. I hope I can interest any of you guys to look into this awesome community. Honestly, I met some of my best mates there, and it is such a blast. If you enjoy DnD, LARP is for you!

If you have any questions, don't hesitate to come and ask me I'm always open!

Hope this piqued you interest,
don't forget to comment, upvote and resteem if this interested you ^0^

Until nest time,
Skullyzard!

p.s: i'm happy to sketch some of you guys' DnD characters if you can provide me with a small description!

Sort:  

Beautiful gallery @skullyzard you are very talented!! Followed :)

Thank you so much!

Aw dude, that's cool!! :0c
My brother's been getting really into DnD lately, and I've always kinda wanted to LARP, but never really had anywhere to do it or anybody to do it with.

Plus I've never successfully made a costume before Px

I'd love to hear about all the crazy adventures you went on, tho!✨
Do you think you'll regale us with your epic tales in the future?? x)

Thanks ! I mean, I started off wearing a waistcoat and shorts haha. As long as it looks nice, you're all set. I'll probably make more posts about it seeing how interested people are in this one!

Cool to see a LARP'er on here! I have a friend who loves it, will show him this so he might finally start using this site and share his own stories :)

yay ! I definitely want to see more LARP'ers on here! It's such an awesome thing to do - the more the merrier! ^-^

I dont LARP but I have close friends who do. And i do other things not yet found on Steemit, that I plan to post about, so I say go for it! I enjoy reading about other people’s interests!

Oooh ! That's awesome ^-^
Thank you for your support

Nice!!! This looks epic--- id love to see more!! Ps i def want a dnd character of me...lol hmmmm

Oh cool! I can definitely post some more :-)

This is pretty cool. I love the photos of your LARP and friends. I have a game here in Japan and have posted some articles of our LARP in Japan.

Haha great characters, and nice to see you in action! :D Never tried LARP´s, but it definitely looks like a lot of fun! :) Would be great to see more!

That´s cool. I play Role playing games some years ago. I love D&D, 7th Sea and of Legend of the Five Rings but LARP looks too much for me :)

love you art,u win a follower! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67332.03
ETH 3499.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.25