A new direction, incorporating found imagery

in #digitalart10 months ago

It's been a while since I posted here, as I've been focusing on posting mainly to Instagram and neglecting other repositories and placements for my work. This one is worth a few more words than I usually devote to an instagram post, and is larger and not-square, so I thought it would benefit from this forum.

What's new about this is that I have rarely incorporated photographs or other existing images in my work, preferring to create all elements in Illustrator. Then the other day, while looking at a particular zoom detail on a map page, I got the urge to capture and transform the basics of the image into my otherwise purely vector-based generative process.

The location detail (barely discernible though it may be) includes what is probably the most heavily traveled stretch of roadway in Minnesota, a section known as the "commons" through which Interstate Highway 35W and Interstate Highway 94 both flow in a river as broad as the Mississippi.

The result is this extra wide image below that I think is pretty successful. Enjoy!

TheCommonsArtboard 1.png

The Commons (2023), digital art by Kevin S. McLaughlin

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61663.08
ETH 2893.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48