The Gig Economy

in #digitalmarketing5 years ago (edited)

Even before I've heard the term "gig economy", I've always been fascinated by those who work on their own time and on their own terms. I've always wanted that for myself. I don't mind working 9 to 5 but there are just some life activities you can't catch on because of a fix work schedule. Running errands, going to concerts, vacations, etc. -- doing all of these require that you always have to prepare for "scheduled" leaves when you are employed full-time.

I'm fully aware of the fact that lots of people are earning money online. I've been really trying since 2013 but I have no success yet with digital gigs, so I go back to the traditional setup.

Last year, my team and I managed to create an enterprise software. It's a big feat. We want to scale it so I realized I have to study digital marketing. Delving into social media/ email marketing materials now, I realized that "hey, these were the things that I was so unsuccessful with in 2013!". I can't help but wonder that if I pressed on, I would have been a full-time digital nomad by now-- a soldier of the gig economy.

I'm coming back to digital marketing. There's a little bit of regret because I shouldn't have stopped acquiring these skillsets 6 years ago. But it's never too late! I absolutely have to because we have a great product that needs to be put out there; and digital marketing is now a requirement-- it's no longer just an option, to spread the word.

What's exciting about this is I can apply the new skills I'm learning not only to our own product/business but I can also help a few enterprises setup their own digital marketing endeavors. So I guess, I can still be part of the gig economy. We'll see! :)

PS: I'm currently taking up digital marketing courses from Tai Lopez. I'm learning so much already. My mind's being blown by how these digital marketing stuff has been going on right under my nose. I'm becoming so much aware now of every single Facebook ads/E-mail campaigns. Once the eyes are opened, they'll never be shut again. LOL.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71315.89
ETH 3677.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76