Cha-Chai Home in Koh Phayam: A vegetarian paradise

in #dining5 years ago

I am not vegetarian but I have quite a few friends that are. Plus, we could probably, veggo or not, use more natural foods in our lives so when this place popped up as the overwhelmingly #1 restaurant on the island, I was not going to allow the no meat as an option get in the way of me going there.

MG_4648 - Copy.jpg

It isn't much to look at and the furniture isn't very comfortable. This place seems to really cater towards people that like to sit on raised platforms with cushions around a mini table. Thankfully they had regular chairs and table to sit at as well or I would have not eaten here.

57038281_804825669881713_8174869373421355008_n - Copy.jpg

The menu is absolutely gigantic and features a wide array of soups, salads, and my personal favorite.... dippy bits. I don't even know what most of these yoghuts and other dippables even are, but I was willing to take a chance. The star of the menu for me was the homemade hummus.

57128397_2215567088709897_9210242841521946624_n - Copy.jpg

They even had "meat" options that I didn't try but it is interesting to me that they have fake mock burgers and even fish without actually using any of the animals that traditionally would be in those products. I have had a vegan chicken burger here years ago and it was really nice and amazingly tasted just like chicken.

If you look on really any food review site including the dreaded TripAdvisor, Cha-Chai Home is always number 1 and it is easy to understand why. Their menu has so many options that you could eat every meal here for a month and likely not have tried everything on offer.

This is a very unique find and to be honest I haven't found a menu quite as unusual (and huge) as this place's despite the fact that I have lived in far more populated areas in this country. Vegetarians and carnivores alike can go to this place with confidence because the food, the service, and the options are wonderful. The only downside is that the actual restaurant is a bit dumpy but this is forgivable given the remote location.

Location including GPS coords
http://chachaihome.com/

Sort:  

My guess is if they know you don't like to eat meat anyway, you must be a glutton for punishment so why make the seating comfortable. That would just be a waste of money! :) It is awesome that you were able to enjoy it and that they are putting out good quality food that will appeal to a wide range of people both vegetarians and not. I'd probably sit down to a nice big salad before I ever tried a mock burger though.

Does the front look like a form of books? I seem to see, hahaha magnificent and delicious menu ... Healthy food for a healthy life.

That is exactly what that is. Good eye :)

From what I have seen so far there are some healthy options to eat all over. I would hesitate going into a non meat restaurant as it just feels foreign to me.However saying that I think i would change my eating habits and eat more vegetarian things if more was on offer. We don't have these types of places here so it is not something I have experienced.The seating is important in a restaurant and the couple in your photograph look quite uncomfortable how they are eating.

Nice food and nice place. I've never been to this island yet. Thank you for sharing. Have a nice time.

That's great, the amazing huge menu! I am vegetarian too and yes it is hard to find such restaurant easily.
Keep flourishing.

Pretty sure a lot of travelers order the "herbal salad"

Posted using Partiko Android

This is great. Probably i will not forgive a restaurant without a great meat

The place is very colorful and festive. There is a whole paraphernalia around these places, in terms of furniture and the most ingrained customs to enjoy them. As for the menu, those vegetarian options are not my favorites, but I love hummus. Greetings, @gooddream. A hug and a happy weekend to you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97