Disc Review: Aerobie Arrow

in #discgolf6 years ago

20180807_183940_HDR.jpg

This putter is my oldest surviving disc. I've had it for 13 years and it's proved itself time and time again. It possesses a number of unique features you won't find on any other disc, especially a putter. Other reviews I've read of this disc are a mixed bag. Some people hate it and others, like myself, swear by it.

For starters, you can notice from the above picture that top is recessed just a little and the rim is slanted instead of rounded like most putters. This allows the thumb to rest on top and the index finger to comfortably curve around the edge. This is great for control and getting a good straight glide on release. Most people who've seen it says it resembles a 5-gallon bucket lid.

20180807_184026_HDR.jpg

This profile view shows the curve well where your index finger can rest. The other unusual feature you can glean from this view is the the flat lip. Most putters are much more rounded underneath with little surface area touching the ground when laid flat. The Arrow's flatness not only lends to it's ability to maintain the path you put it on, but it also takes a favorable bounce when it lands. When thrown backhand (right handed) it will bounce a few feet left as if it were a driver following a curve. When thrown sidearm it will bounce right. This is great for long approaches when you're not confident you can make the chains. Just aim a little off to the left or right respectively and you're golden on your next putt!

Another thing that makes this putter stand out is it's rigidity. Most putters are made of softer plastics and are typically too flimsy to put a full power drive into them. This isn't the case for the Arrow. If you want to wind up and drive this thing as hard as you can, by all means do it! You can tell from the profile view that it's take quite a bit of punishment over the years but it still throws like the day I got it. It's worth driving with on some of the shorter holes I've encountered.

Good luck finding this disc anywhere, though. At one point, I think it was banned by the PDGA, despite the stamp right on the front. It may have been reinstated but the one time I found this disc again in a store, it was made of your usual soft putter plastic. I haven't been able to confirm this so if anyone in the disc golf community knows, leave a comment.

Got a favorite disc? Let me know.

Happy throwing!

Sort:  

You gotta follow my buddy @davedickeyyall

Veteran STEEMian and disc golfer and funny as hell.

I am more of a hockey/sailing/jiu jitsu guy but looks fun!

Followed! You ought to give it a try sometime. It's inexpensive, a great excuse to get outdoors, and you can crack a few beers open at most parks and no one bat an eye. Not to mention the other thing that can only be enjoyed in Canada and a handful of states ;)

You had me at outdoors but the rest sounds awesome too!

Had a red one just like that as one of my first discs. Was a really good approach disc but I didn’t like it as a putter

I've gotten so used to it as a putter than I can't imagine throwing anything else. I have an MVP Atom as well but it pretty much stays in my bag.

great to find discgolf on Steemit... I did an "in the bag" and one of my wipe out drives here on Steemit ... I'm gonna do more... awesome to see other discgolf players here ;9)

Thanks @gibber! I saw that wipe out video. Sometimes those are the best drives haha!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Congratulations @disc-jitsu87! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95