You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Hae-Joo] Guilty by Association - An interesting experience with Discord

in #discord6 years ago

Woah! @macchiata mentioned this story and I didn’t realize I knew you. She didn’t give so many details either and so I also kind of immediately pinned you as a racist because I assumed anyone in a chat that was anti-Semitic was probably racist. Still even if you WERE racist, I don’t believe they should be shutting down chat rooms unless plans are ring made to incite violence.

But reading this and remembering you, I realize how ridiculous those charges are.

It also got me thinking, wouldn’t it be better if we weren’t scared to be guilty by association? Then the “good people” could go talk to the “bad people” and build a deeper understanding, rather than just condemning the “bad people” as evil criminals. I would love to talk to those who hate me for who I am or where I come from, provided it wasn’t immediately dangerous for me to do so, and chat rooms provide us with that opportunity. Instead if you get caught searching for their chat rooms, you might end up “guilty by association”. What s mess. Resteemed.

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63410.49
ETH 3058.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99