How Much Land does it take

in #discussion6 years ago



To provide enough food for one person to survive
.....................................................................................................................................................................................................

That seems like a fairly reasonable question doesn't it? One would think that it would NOT involve any politics or ideology?

One would be wrong.

Oddly enough most of the articles I scanned immediately began to shame americans for our diet. Facts were hard to come by.

But I persisted.

My goal is to determine if it is possible for a 'urban aquaponics system' to produce enough food to feed me, my wife, and cats. To do that I have to determine how much food we need.

Not as easy as it might first assume.

Here's what I found out so far.

It's 'generally accepted' that an adult female human requires about 1800 calories a day and that an adult male human needs 'about' 2000.

So...problem solved. Eat a couple of snicker's bars....right?

er..no.

The problem is a bit more complex....

SO..if you want to follow me in my voyage of culinary and nutritional discovery....

  • the average American consumes about 2000 lbs of food per year,
    that's a TON of food. no wonder my grocery bill is so high!)
    .
    which works out to about 5.5 lbs and 2700 calories per day–or nearly your entire body weight in food per month.
    .
    Divide those daily 2700 calories by 5.5 lbs and you get 490 calories per pound of food, on average.
    .
    There are differences in the quality

Quality is important, as is price and availability. What can I do to improve on my situation? How much of it can I grow myself? Do I want to do that?

Stay tuned for further episodes.

Sort:  

that's a nice graphic... nice you've found it! 😊 @peekbit

'urban aquaponics system'

..about 2 acres of conventional produce (vegetables) for the year, for 2.
If efficient at farming with good soil - no Monsanto! lol.
So many variables...

aquaponics system - maybe yield 7/8 times more...1/4 acre...?
...100% fish based nutrition?
The science is quite amazing..

...Interested to hear your further episodes on this...It has been something I have been 'toying' with myself here, tbh. (not too seriously, just 'pond'ering. boom boom.).

....If only I had the sun!

I SUSPECT that the area can be measured in square feet...and not a lot of them.
I SUSPECT that I can build an aquaponics system that grows the fish food (duckweed)

  • to feed the fish (tilipia, perch, trout, great white sharks)
  • to feed the poultry ( asian quail, buzzards, pterdacyls)
    which supply nutrients into the water which feed the plants that feed them.

Dunno how much veggies I want/need to eat. Fish, quail and eggs seems like a pretty good meal....

dunno...we'll see.

(closing date was moved back...it was friday next...now it's the following one)

Here's on aquaponic system you might like!

😂 😂
(dunno if different topping's are an option though)

IMAG0336.JPG

Aquaponic PIZZA plants...awesome.

wow Good Calculations about daily needs of body and how much consumes per day.
Good Chart...

wow!..such an original response.....I'll treasure it forever!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83