Not All End-Users Are The Same

in #discussion6 years ago


I think a lot of people are still confused over the vision of Steem and where we are currently headed.

I read a post today, filled with comments about RCs Credits and how many  transactions people will need to be effective on Steem.  The poster was making assumptions about a new account he created and how many transactions the account would be capable of making.  There was a lot of assumptions in the post and in the comment section.

Here are a few things to consider when discussing this topic.

Most of us do not use the Steem blockchain directly.  We  interact with it via Apps.  Most of us probably entered and learned via SteemIt.com.  SteemIt.com is just an App which makes it easy for non-technical people to insert information into the blockchain, in addition it displays our wallet information and other data already stored in the blockchain.

The blockchain does/will provide a place for people and organizations to build Apps.

There are already hundreds of Apps with different user-cases operating on Steem.  It is difficult to impossible to guess what each new-user will need to effectively use different types of Apps with different user-cases and functions.

If you are using SteemIt.com, you might need a different amount of RCs to blog and comment than you would on Steem Monsters where one would trade cards.

As we move forward those who build Apps on the blockchain will need to figure out how to:

  • Attract and sign up Users
  • Create accounts
  • Fund transactions for users
  • Reward activity

The various App owners will decide how to do these operations and there is not a one-size user-case that fits all the types of users we will have going forward.

NOT ALL END USERS will have the same needs depending on which Apps they end up utilizing and what their needs are.

This also seems like a good opportunity to remind everyone, you will not find value in all of the new projects that come to Steem. The Apps are like a Buffet meal, take what you like and leave the rest alone.

"Some of you are shouting, but they get rewarded via the reward pool!"

The influence you have over the reward pool is directly related to the amount of stake you own.  If you want to have influence use your voting power to reward what you want to see more of, and if you really dislike something flag it.  If you do those things and vote for witnesses you are utilizing your influence!

You are now free to move about the Blockchain, 

Ahh- if you have enough RCs.  :)


@whatsup

PS if you know of a minnow who can not transact, please put the details in the comment section.




Sort:  

@whatsup,
I think devs might consider reduce RC distribution and will make a place at market to buy RCs in a decent bid price! So people might more interact to buy STEEM, hold it as SP and rent their SP + RC!
So it might rise the demand and we all know the supply of STEEM is really less than EOS current supply after 2045 as well!

Cheers~

This idea is shit, if people cant have an enjoyable time from the start, why the hell would the spend more money? I powered up 25sp from the start to test this out and my time has been nothing close to enjoyable. The only reason im able to make this post is because of an emergency delegation, and i really have not been very active.

The vision for Steem as I understand it is basically SMT's to try and keep the blockchain alive since it is not scaleable.
I could be wrong but I think Ned really wants SMT's and I think he did say they are necessary for viability.

Scalability was what HF20 was about. Not sure about the rest of it.

Love it!

And had someone freak out and waste $0.35 of theirs on a flag.

And yeah I'm learning more but as long as the site just keeps going is my thing.

Keep the blockchain alive!

Is that Tandoori chicken? Where on Earth is there an Indian buffet because I will stop what I'm doing and go there right now.

Oh my goodness, I just had an idea pop into my head, but it may be irrelevant as more tweaks happen. Yeah, I saw a lot of posts about how the current state new accounts can barely do anything. As you were talking about other apps, I was thinking, hey... maybe the apps can start doing things where e.g. they post on the user's behalf and sends the corresponding rewards to the new user, in the case that the new user does not have RC's to interact (after some curation of course). I wonder if it's something that would be done or not.

End users are an odd bunch...

It's true.

Damn I thought it was going to be a tech support joke :P great write up though, definitely saw a few people posting about what they think they should have had RC wise when other people were still negative at the time

Posted using Partiko Android

I know that things are a little rough for new users but as long as they can post and make a couple of comments there is room for them to grow here.

I like that you point to the app development side of things. It is easy for a user like myself to forget that there is more than just Steemit and Dtube.

"The Apps are like a Buffet meal, take what you like and leave the rest alone." Haha I would say that they are a little better than a buffet because they don't make me feel sick to my stomach lol.

Are you on whaleshares whatsup? :D

Nah, their sign up is crazy... lol.

Haha :-) Let me know if you want an invite! You do engaging articles and posts.

I have also seen many discuss the cost of using the blockchain but as the developers have said, this will continue to evolve over time to ensure that the cost of transacting adjust to a number of factors including the value being created by said transaction. I don’t see issues with the current bandwidth and as we do run into the them I am still sure that the system will adapt to ensure that value is being created proportionally to the cost of transacting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98