Worbli is an interesting new project.

in #discussion6 years ago

So, one of the most interesting new projects in crypto is Worbli.  It's interesting because it is playing to a different crowd with a different ideas.  While it will not appeal to many, it may bring about some tools that could be utilized by other projects as well.


Here are some interesting things about it:


It is a fork or clone of EOS.

They haven't dropped tokens yet.

Their goal is to be legal and friendly with Regulations

Another goal is to be mainstream friendly via use of wallets

This model will appeal to some and if they can pull that off it will bring in a whole new crowd to Crypto.

Yet, it doesn't stop anyone from using other products.

I think it is going to be really interesting to watch.

It seems that EOS is in support of this project.

Of course at this point it is all just talk, but here is a video which intrigued me about the project.

From RT's "The Keiser Report"  -  Max interviews Domenic Thomas of Worbli.io, ‘where fintech and blockchain meet .  At 13 minutes.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3tcVg279HLg&feature=youtu.be&t=13m05s

I love all new crypto project that try to bring something new and improved to crypto.


What are your thoughts?


@whatsup


Sort:  

You got a 31.25% upvote from @booster courtesy of @whatsup!

NEW FEATURE:

You can earn a passive income from our service by delegating your stake in SteemPower to @booster. We'll be sharing 100% Liquid tokens automatically between all our delegators every time a wallet has accumulated 1K STEEM or SBD.
Quick Delegation: 1000| 2500 | 5000 | 10000 | 20000 | 50000

"They haven't dropped tokens yet."

Apparently, 40 percent of all tokens go to EOS holders as of September 7th, who can claim them from Worbli's website, to be distributed in November. No doubt this is why EOS users don't feel threatened, because they are getting ownership of 40 percent of the tokens for free.

I can easily imagine that future EOS buyers will feel VERY threatened by Worbli, as they won't be airdropped any tokens, and since the project is a fork of EOS, it will undoubtedly compete very hard against EOS in just about every aspect.

"Their goal is to be legal and friendly with Regulations"

That's good, for mass adoption.

On the other hand, their white paper indicates they will be constantly scanning accounts, monitoring activity and collecting information. The stated purpose is to check for terrorism, but one wonders what else they will do with all that info once they have mined it from their users.

I mean, Facebook started with benign reasons for mining user info, and ended up selling the info to anybody with a buck, treating users as cattle.

"Another goal is to be mainstream friendly via use of wallets"

The white paper says that, but doesn't say how. The interviewee suggests that humans will be in charge assisting accounts, and reinstating lost accounts, which I suppose is a more formal version of begging for help from Steemians and witnesses, but it feels more centralized. Maybe that's not a bad thing, but who knows. Wait and watch, I guess.

"This model will appeal to some and if they can pull that off it will bring in a whole new crowd to Crypto."

Yep. Very interesting project. Their white paper lists "social networks" as something they plan to get into, so Steem will also face competition from them, though that development looks at least a year away judging by timelines alluded to in this interview and the white paper.

Thanks for highlighting these guys. Must keep an eye on them. :)

It's interesting and I am very curious how the crypto markets will react to it.

It's a positive development, as it should wake other cryptos from slumber.

It's a fork of a blockchain capable of scaling, aiming for mass adoption, the holy grail.

The markets may favor it, or it's competitors' reactions to it, but the race is speeding up, and that's what we need, as time, always, for all of us, is in short supply.

If anyone has any pressing questions about them, I'm sure @eos.detroit would be happy to answer them for you. They're a block producer on EOS and have partnered up with Worbli.

Cool, I voted for eos.detroit the other night.

PS - have you tried GAB?

https://gab.com/frot

No, but I will check it out.

Just hearing about it so need to do further digging

I like the idea of it being user friendly. Trying to explain the process of opening an account or the different passwords on crypto platforms is somewhat intimidating for the average user. I have avoided sharing Steemit with some of my friends because I know that they will be calling me every 5 minutes for assistance.

Agreed. I've brought on 5 people, none have had the time to figure it out.

The project is interesting, I'd like to see how they're going to make it easy to use like facebook or a google account. I do agree most people don't care about the how it runs they just want it to do what they want it to do with our any problems. If they achieve the UI aspect making it user friendly, it all be worth it for other developers even if it fails in the end. Oh and that guy looks like he had one to many joints lol

I've been saying all along, when the user interfaces of crypto appeal to mainstream users, that is when we will see wider adoption.

Obviously, I don't know if this group can accomplish their goals, but I do believe they have the right goals.

Yep and another thing i like is that you could have your friends or family take control over your account should you get hit by a tractor trailer truck one day.

I saw it yesterday on Max Keiser's show , the idea is correct but the timing is a bit early , building Domenic's netscape for internet analogy the utility of crypto is still very nascent and hence the need for a user friendly UI is pretty low.

In other words , sure maintaing own wallets is a pain but that may not be the limiting factor for people to jump in the crypto world , they ( me included) don't even understand all the risks for them to make an informed decision to take an insurance layer on top of the existing wallets.

Having said that , being a bit early is better thant being late and I think if they can sustain it for few years there me real potential for this project.

Cheers !!

Being old enough to remember how computers and the Internet became mainstream, it wasn't until the technology became easy enough for mainstream users to use it.

My computer guy... thought Windows was a gimmick that the computer world didn't need. I saw that it was a way to make the market of end-users much larger and expand the entire industry.

He knew more about computers, but I understood humans.

Whoever is the first to make using crypto easy and stressless is going to do extremely well.

No disagreement with any of that ....

It's from the guys behind VIVA.

Not the "bad guys" mind you, but some of the "good guys."

It still kind leaves a bad taste in my mouth though since many of those same guys had advised us to buy VIVA and TQS / tradeqwik tokens at every opportunity.

I know they're on the up-and-up here and they're doing their best to make a good project happen.

Still, I lost more than $9,000 in that venture. I have an email stating that they will repay me..... but I haven't heard from them in months so I'm not holding my breath.

Now, I know that these guys are doing something that is completely unrelated to VIVA.... but I'm unlikely to get involved at this point.

Oh man... That seems odd, because Worbli is getting so much attention and viva seemed, so cheap and shady.

I don't blame you for not wanting to get in.

Their goal is to be legal and friendly with Regulations

Damn there goes all their credibility in one goal!

That's what i was thinking also however we knew that would happen no matter what and I look at it as if they're the gate way to our drug :P

Agreed! I hear you, but people are always talking about crypto going mainstream, but until we have some projects that appeal to mainstream that will not happen.

Do mainstream punters actually care if things are "legal" - on the internet? - Jeepers, I must be from a different planet, in between downloading thousands of gigs of "pirated" content I like to promote marijuana and expose conspiracies - legal is not a good thing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68