"Unknown Error" by DTube

in #dissappointed5 years ago

I simply can't become friends with DTube(@dtube) no matter how much I try... I have to admit that I rarely post on DTube but almost every time I do that I encounter some sort of problems. Sometimes it doesn't want to work at all like today for example. I have a video that I want to upload. The video has been uploaded in the app and gone through all that IPFS and encoding thing, uploaded the snap but when I hit submit I keep on getting the "unknown error" message and I don't see it posted on my page. I refreshed the page and tried again and it's the same thing. It simply doesn't work's and "it has no explanation" for that.

Untitled.png

I haven't even tried on mobile and honestly I don't want to put my account's keys in any unofficial app. I can't put my trust in anything nowadays. Moreover I am really pissed of whenever I am excited to share something on Steem and it doesn't work, like in today's case. I feel a bit disappointed also because I want to see DTube as a youtube competitor but I realize there's way behind it in terms of functionality and... On youtube I could upload a similar video in a few minutes from my phone or laptop with no stress at all. But I don't have anyone to share with my video over there and that's why I want DTube to work. Hope I will manage to upload that video and that DTube will work a bit on their app and make it better. You can't have mass adoption with such continuous errors.

I will stop now with my rant because it's Sunday and it doesn't benefit me at all. I would have gone even more with it and probably even "catch a flag" from some DTube supporter but there's no use. It is what it is and I have to learn to embrace errors as well. Probably I am too oriented towards perfection...

Thanks for attention and have a great evening!
Adrian

Sort:  

Do not accept the errors.

Computers are deterministic. In web, front-end is front-end and back-end is back-end. There is no magic in making them work seemlessly. Up until know, we would have raged about websites/webapps acting like this and others, but because we are "benefiting," we are supposed to accept this bs mistreatment? Not acceptable.

Ranting on. So Why is DTube support or development not resolving these issues, when these errors are widely reported? Deliberate sabotage? I'm a skeptic at points, when I see the obvious and the ones responsible not doing anything to improve.

Web dev is not rocket science.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76