DIY Painted the roof : Part Two

in #diy6 years ago

Well we painted another section of the roof. This time we painted the roof over the living room. The paint went further then expected.

Last time we painted the front porch.

53039275-7880-46A0-823A-CAB8C9D78360.jpeg
What it looked like once finished, figures that the sun moved enough to provide shade once done😒

So let’s rewind to the beginning ⏪

▶️ So this is the section we were planning on painting.
Over the living room and bedroom on the south side.
25B69B03-EFCE-43AA-8C3F-094D596595EA.jpeg
Temps are in the 80’s, the heat started to effect me.
I had three helpers up there with me too. They ended up sitting in the shade and getting me cold drinks.
But it’s so cool being on the roof, unless it’s hot. Then they don’t think it’s as cool. Especially when I put them to work getting stuff off the roof, sticks/leafs/moss.

52A35A72-E724-4D01-B160-08C904C1803C.jpeg
I had a few holes like these I had to dump paint in, like eight of these. 😞

So this paint is different from the stuff we used before. It’s thicker! It also seems to go farther!
1714AB57-0DDA-4AF8-8556-C4BAAB5E0B4A.jpeg
We had to wait two weeks to use it, it’s been raining off and on. I was talking about buying it here. I think it’s worth the extra money. But we will be ripping the roof off next year, or at least that’s the plan.

Okay so back to my painting job.
5EB06582-7A98-41DE-B5AE-8B35A1E975E1.jpeg
This dude landed next to me, it’s a birch beetle. I always get the spruce beetles and birch beetles mixed up and call them the wrong name. These things creep me out when they land in my hair. They get stuck and are very loud when they fly. Kinda like a retro bug monster movie. They are evil looking too with those antennae.

47DDF808-A230-4ECC-96ED-E58044DB1DD3.jpeg
Here is a side shot of the house and how far the paint went. Way farther then planned.

A3BB987D-8B80-4238-8DC5-A3AD24B8908B.jpeg
It really did cover a lot!

I want to buy more paint within the next few days while the weather is great and dry. The next three days are suppose to be in the upper seventies to low eighties.

We will need three more buckets at $97 a pop. But it seems to work when it comes to rain. So I hope it works when we have snow and ice on the roof, and those damn ice dams.

When we redo the roof I plan on insulating the hell out of the roof. I seen some of the old insulation and it’s sad and flat.
Anyways that’s what we did yesterday.

Hope you all are keeping cool in the heat and keeping warm in the snow.

Life in Alaska

• All photos and content are our own. Please do not use any part of this post without our expressed permission. Thanks for not being a dick •

Sort:  
Congratulations This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community-based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible.

Join our Discord Channel to connect with us and nominate your own or somebody else's posts in our review channel.

Help us to reward you for making it ! Join our voting trail or delegate steem power to the community account.

Your post is also presented on the community website www.steemmakers.com where you can find other selected content.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

Ughh I hate those beetles too and they bite hard, I am always on guard when I hear them coming in for a landing, LOL!
So do you notice any temperature difference in your house yet, from the roof being white?

Hubby says he noticed, I have too. It’s still hot out, in the 80’s. Would love to pick up on a painting project that keeps getting pushed to the side. Painting the house a lighter color. We shall see if I can.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98