DIY Takedown Bow

in #diy6 years ago (edited)

20181026_082132.jpg

Hey Steemers!
For the past 2 weeks I've been working on a new project. A takedown longbow is a bow that can be taken apart for travel or even to swap out the limbs.

I started with drawing out how I wanted my handle/riser to look. I picked some nice hard woods and began to cut them to size and glue them together.
20181012_111932.jpg

I'm using Walnut and Patagonia Rosewood to make a 16" riser block.

20181014_114120.jpg

20181014_114130.jpg

Once I had my wood glued together, I traced my template to the riser block and started cutting out the rough shape.

20181014_114225.jpg

20181014_114238.jpg

Using my jigsaw, I cut the curves, then gave it a good sanding. Now its starting to take shape.

20181016_182749.jpg

I don't have any specialty tools so I use what I have. I made a "spindle sander" by using a wooden closet pole cut to 6 inches with sandpaper glued on. Worked great and allowed me to get closer to my template shape.

20181016_182809.jpg

20181016_182818.jpg

20181016_182828.jpg

20181016_182839.jpg

After a lot more sanding and rasping and shaping, I got the riser and grip exactly how I wanted. Fits my hand perfectly.

Now I'll sand it with 150grit, 220, 400, and 1000 sandpapers to get a glass-smooth finish. Now I can put about 8 coats of Danish oil on it to give it some luster.

20181017_193005.jpg

20181017_193015.jpg

With the riser done, I wanted to add screw in inserts snd an alignment pin that will make sure I have a strong and straight connection for my limbs.

20181029_100346.jpg

20181029_100416.jpg

With the inserts and pins epoxied in place, I gave the riser 3 coats of spray on polyurethane, lightly sanding with 0000 steel wool between each coat.

20181023_183050.jpg

20181023_183105.jpg

While the riser block dried, I started working on the limbs. I don't have the equipment to do laminated limbs yet, so I made the limbs the ssme way I did the last 3 bows I made. That particular style is called a "selfbow" or "board bow" made from 1 stick or 1 board.

So I used (2) 28" × 1.5" × .75" boarde for my limbs. Cut them, tapered them, and shaped them accordingly. Check out any of the Bow Build posts I've made for detailed instructions on how these are made.

20181023_183030.jpg
Painted..

20181024_155354.jpg
Stained...

20181024_213819.jpg
Limb tips added (Redheart wood)

20181024_213839.jpg
Red Oak Veneer accents added...

20181022_225749.jpg

After quite a bit of tillering and working the limbs, I was able to finally brace to bow/string it up.

20181026_082116.jpg

Satisfied with the limbs, I sprayed them with a few coats of poly to seal them up and make em shine!

20181025_104117.jpg

20181025_104103.jpg

Here's what the bow finally looks like.

20181026_082207.jpg

20181026_082250.jpg

20181026_082346.jpg

20181026_082228.jpg

I learned a lot on this build. I researched and I made mistakes, but I kept going. Its really rewarding to finally shoot the finished bow. Here's some footage I shot while fine tuning...

Thanks for taking the time and following along! Any questions? Hit me! I'll answer them to the best of my ability!

Peace!!

Sort:  

Another great bow! I love that you are able to do such beautiful bows without using any specialized equipment. Do you have any experience with wood or have you learn everything you know just to make your bows?

I like to see your progress photos as I can imagine how you made it. There are so many that it feels like I was there with you while you were making it.

And that video at the end is great! It must be an amazing feeling for you to shoot it for the first time and see that it's working the way you hoped for :)

Thank you for sharing!

Thank you so much for following along!! I do have some woodworking experience but it's all from helping my Mom or building a bookshelf for a friend, etc. I love to DIY. (^_^)

Posted using Partiko Android

That is a beautiful bow. I love how the danish oil makes the wood look. You are truly a craftsman.

Thank you! That's my favorite part! When I can put the oil on the wood and see how it POPs! (^_^)

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.



Awesome!! Thank you!! (^_^)

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow...o my God!!!
Looks really good.
I love woodworking too .
I follow you. ^^

It's my work.

Wow!! Those are really nice too!! #Skills

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow!! Those are really nice too!! #Skills

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy from Texas sir beatking! Hey I remember you made another long bow and did posts about that a few months ago. So this is another great design and obviously it worked very well!

The design plans and step-by-step photos of the progress is really interesting to see as the bow takes shape so great job!
Have you ever thought about making a crossbow?

Thank you so much for following along! I started making bows with PVC pipe and I've made a "crossbow" using different materials. Now I'm focused on making really good quality wood bows. (^_^)

Posted using Partiko Android

sir beatking! what? bows made out of PVC pipe? how is that possible? are they any good?

They sure are! LOL. When heat is applied, PVC becomes moldable. Taper those ends and curve the tips and you're done!! Great for a quick survival bow.

Posted using Partiko Android

oh I get it. thank you beatking13!

Here's one I made from PVC

20180702_141714.jpg

And another...

20180206_055221.jpg

dang sir beatking13, those look great, they sure don't look like PVC either, you painted them right?

The first one is covered in camouflage duct tape and the other is painted brown.

Posted using Partiko Android

This is beautiful. It's amazing how you make this up out of what you have at hand. I am wondering if the wood is expensive.

I already subbed from your last curied post and today I watched and liked this video at yt. If you cross post your short videos to dtube and use dtubesnap as your tag, you will be a hit. This is just the type of thing they like over there.

Awesome! Thanks for following and for the great advice!! I'll look at dtube closer for the next time! (^_^)

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm having good luck with uploading videos less than 2 minutes. After that - not so good :(

Really? I will check it out today and see if I have any problems. To answer your first question, the red oak for the limbs is about $10 at Home Depot, the Walnut was about $20 (and I have some left over) and the Rosewood was on sale for about $8 for the piece I used.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi beatking13,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Awesome! Thank you so much!! (^_^)

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh man...wow! How much time did it take you alltogehter? I know u said 2 weeks but I'm wondering the exact amount of hours..And what would be the range of the bow cca? The crucial step for me were those 3 coats of spray haha :D that piece of wood looked immediately soo much better!

This is amazing work dude, conratz on ur well deserved curie upvote :)

Thanks a bunch! I appreciate that! I'm not quite sure how many work hours I put in but it rained quite a bit during that time period and there were several days that I couldn't work on it at all. Working straight through would take a little over a week so everything can dry properly. As far as range, the arrows fly at about 140-150 feet per second. Fast enough to hunt in North America. (^_^)

Posted using Partiko Android

SO you'll use it for hunting??? wow man...I follow Chad Mendez (MMA fighter) cuz of his hunting videos...it's totally inspiring, hunt your own meat!

I've seen a couple of his vids as well! Yes you CAN hunt with it, but I rarely get a chance to go out into the woods. But lots of guys hunt with bows just like this one.

Posted using Partiko Android

Whoa! Amazing! I'm very impressed! I "bow" to you!

LOL. Thank you! I appreciate what you do as well! (^_^)

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @beatking13! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 250

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98