Transforming Plain Hand Crafted Cement Pots Into Mothers Day Trinkets

in #diy3 years ago

With mothers day just around the corner, I decided to make some small trinkets to place on my farmers market table for the occasion.

image.png

A good friend of mine has been making a living off of creating a array of cement figurines and pots of all shapes and sizes, and in a show of support I would often buy some of her smaller pots and the occasional figurine off of her that I can use for the sale of decorative plants from my home based nursery, and seeing that I still had quite a bit of excess stock on those, I decided to use some of them to decorate and turn into some cute mothers-day trinkets for my table.

I started with the laced inlay pots, for these I thought that simplicity would suit best, so i white washed over the lace design, and painted the rest if the pot white for a little bit of emphasis, and I finished the pot off with a small ribbon on the front.

image.png

I also had some hedgehog and owl shaped pots of the same size in stock, and for these, I decided to play around with some color. I will admit that some looked better than others, but they all looked good enough to earn themselves a display on my table.

image.png

Next, I filled the little pots with some chocolate, candy and a lovely hug in a mug cappuccino blend (for those cold winters days ahead) and packed them neatly for transportation, even if these trinkets do not sell, I think they will add a lively element of variety to my display.

image.png

And just to add a splash more color, I also decided to paint some rabbit garden ornaments in bright colors, seeing that the paint was out and that I was on a roll already...

These could still be used as garden ornaments, as i varnished them with a weather protective coat, but they could also serve as indoor ornaments or even just a door stopper or paper weight.

Personally I have never been the ornamental type, but I know that other people might enjoy things like this, and until they find a home, they can add some color to my display.

image.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62423.89
ETH 3202.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81