DIY mom: Facebrick walls - by @altacbotha

in #diy6 years ago

I don't know why, but most of the suburbia houses built in the 90's all have one unplastered (facebrick) wall in the living area. Well, it took me a while to decide what to do to spice up the wall a bit. Google and Pinterest have many ideas. I discovered a wonderful product by the name of Cemcrete (South Africa - http://cemcrete.co.za/). It is a ready-mix cement based plaster.
So, here we go;

Step one:
Clear the wall from dust and loose cement with a soft brush.

Step two:
Mix ready mix cement as per instructions and apply to the wall as per image below;

Step three:
So, I struggled a bit with this part, because I bought a product from Cemcrete with a terracotta color that was too bland for my taste, so I have painted over the color with a normal water based color from Plascon and it worked quite well.

And the end result...

The new look is much more classic-modern and takes away that conservative effect when one walks into the house.
Let me know what you think!

Sort:  

A ready-mix cement based plaster?
Interesting. The outcome is incredibly beautiful.

Did you get the color separately? Does the Cemcrete have other applications too?

Good day, I think it is mostly just cement and plaster sand. Thank you, yes, I have used a plascon paint, seperately. Cemcrete have products for floors, swimmingpools and walls. I will soon post some diy ideas on my own cement floors. It depends on your local hardware store, but the normally have their own products similar to Cemcrete's product.

Wow, I thought they were mainly for walls. How wrong I was!

I'll keep a tab on your blog for more of your ideas. Peace ✌.

Wonderful post....after finishing all the three steps,,,,the result is amazing. Really it looks classic and modern. Thanks for sharing...and its so effective...keep it up.

I think this process makes it look so much better. Thank you for sharing!

For sure. Pleasure.

art abstrack 👍🏼

Congratulations @brightideas, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 3631 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $5236.00. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

It turned out very interesting! Sadly, we do not have such material ...

Thank you. You can use normal cement with plaster sand, together with a bonding liquid (sometimes called, plaster key)

Thanks, I'll keep it in mind.

Looks great! Also love the tones of greens you used on the wall hanging frames as well- totally changes the vibe of the room ;)

Thank you. I've used burned orange before but was too bright.

I could see that, that sage green is really peaceful and natural feeling, almost like it's moss growing- really beautiful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94