Building my new 3D PRINTER - Intro

in #diy6 years ago (edited)


I built my 3D Printer over 3 years ago out of cheap, DiY parts and MDF. It has served me well, but now it's definitely time for an upgrade, so I'm retiring my old 3D Printer and building a new one.

Music: Say Something by Ryan Little: https://soundcloud.com/iamryanlittle/...

You can also find me on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/der_coco/


About me:
Follow me here:
Part 2:
About me
Follow
Part2

▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

nice idea and plan! looking forward for new videos about your printer(s) :)

Thanks man! :)

There are some cheap 3D printers for under $300, you can buy from sites like aliexpress. The problem is, they are too small. It would be great to see a 3D printer made, that can support a print area larger than 50 by 50 millimeters.

High print area printers aren't really what I'm interested in because of tremendous warp issues even when printing with PLA. Around the 25x25mm mark you must be using magic to keep the print stuck to the surface. The height of the print however can be much more, which is why almost all printer manufacturers concentrate on that. I also know that I probably could have spent less by just buying a 3D printer, but for me it's more about the challenge of designing and building one from the ground up.

If you're interested in a high print area, you could buy a cheap cnc from China and replace the mill with an extruder. That should be really easy :)

Those extrusions are great, but crazy expensive. You almost be better off just buying a prusa kit...but where would the fun be in that!

I don't even think the extrusions are that expensive. What really shocked me was that I paid more for the fasteners than for the extrusions themselves. And you're right! I don't even need a 3D printer. It's basically just about building one and thinking of/ designing/ printing new improvements to the printer.

You'll learn a lot more about 3D printers (and how to repair them) because you built your own. I built my CNC machine and have been able to quickly repair it because I assembled it.

Don't let anyone tell you that you don't need a 3d printer! I've made enough money to pay for my printer doing various jobs I've picked up because of having one.

That's awesome :)

@dercoco So awesome! I also have one mini printer but it is not DIY. I want to make diy printer someday like you :)

Thanks, that sounds great! :) Making a printer is super easy and really fun. I highly suggest anyone to give it a try

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62276.80
ETH 3005.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62