2019 pit greenhouse plans

in #diy5 years ago

The plans are forming!

Well for those of you that have followed me for a while, will have seen that most of my growing space is within a sorry looking, recycles and self built greenhouse i have, tiny by most terms at 8x14 feet its my safe place and given the rubbish weather we have in the UK the best opportunity to grow some decent fruit and veg.



My greenhouse as it stands


This has given me a good 5 years of grow space but this year it's suffered a fair bit of damage which brings round an opportunity to repair, rebuild and improve upon it.

I need to do it on the Cheap… as recent events have put our family in a tough place, by no means dire and i'm in no way complaining as were incredibly lucky compared to others but it means disposable income is hard to find and justifying an expensive greenhouse build would be hard.

The plan!

I need to swiftly replace the greenhouse so that minimal disruption is caused to the growing season. So im going to get it all designed premade by myself and book a couple of days off to tear down the old and replace with the new.

The design

Im going to create a Walipini or sunken greenhouse, one of the issues i face is strong winds up 100kph+ when the storms roll in, so by lowering the height i can hopefully shield it from some of these winds that are causing damage.

Walipini example


Source


Benefits of a Walipini

  • Protected from the wind due to low height
  • Minimal materials required due to height saving
  • Increased thermal regulation due to using the earth as a heat sink.
  • Unobtrusive and easily hidden due to its low height

The Design Phase

So this is currently where I’m at modeling away in Fusion 360…


Rough model still got lots to do/change


One of the reasons for modeling this first is to really get the design nailed, and this should help me with the following;

  • Avoid any potential errors in layout.
  • Accurately estimate materials to avoid wastage and keep it cheap.
  • Create a solid set of plans to get it pre built and ready to erect.

If anyone wants the files once there done let me know i'll happily release them to the world, and hopefully they will scale easily to other dimensions as required.

Other big changes

Well some of these were started in the current greenhouse but i’ve held off finishing through lack of time or issues with the greenhouse thats standing. The following things are going to be designed in so start with and price factored in to allow rapid completion

  • Airtight as possible other than designed ventilation trying to keep the temperature up in winter in a nightmare and i want to grow year round
  • Automation of watering/ventilation completed
  • Increase in both rain water/solar collection
  • Dedicated work space for potting up and tinkering to keep the GH clean and organised

Also the soil excavated will be used to fill some more raised beds i plan to build so that i'll be able to increase my grow space further and increase my self reliance even more :)


Self Watering System to finish

How am i going to fund it?

Well i haven't got that far into my plan yet… once i have a rough idea of costs i can starting saving money here and there. I’ll be looking for ways to bring some money in to help fund it with things i can make/do to help it to completion.

There's always STEEM

I invested some money in Steem while its cheap with a hope to cash it back out down the line to help fund some of this, I’m not sure how that will pan out but any SBD i build from posts im going to hold onto as a means help this along

Worse case if the price stays low or drops further ill power it up and delegate to some of the great communities i find myself in..

GHSC Discord

Proud member of the Global Homestead Collective

Natural Medicine Discord

Upvotes, resteems and follows are great and truly appreciated. However a meaningful comment is worth so much more, don’t be afraid to say hello.

Until next time, all the best

DigitalDan

Sort:  

I have always admired these, but our water table sits at 4' on a dry year. (This year it's probably 2'...) So what I would have is a small pool.... I also have wind, but not as bad as yours! It will require planning, and a rocket stove for heating, in my area.

Ooo thatd not be fun, or it coukd be a nice indoor pool 😆 mine should be fine i think worst case ill pump it via solar into the water storage win win. I was toying around the idea of adding a stove but id forget to keep it stocked, thanks for commenting

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, that's my situation also. My greenhouse floods every year in the spring already, so I can imagine if I dug it in. I might look at the possibility of berming up around it, that would work to some extent.

Hmmm im starting to worry more about the potential for water issues as times go on i may have to dig a test hole in the greenhouse to see what happens before i commit to any plans

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, that's a good idea, just to know if it will be a problem. You don't have to dig the hole in the greenhouse, you could dig it outside the greenhouse, you'll get the same result, one way or the other.

Haha thanks dont know why i didnt think of doing it outside of the greenhouse as you said the results will be the same, thanks

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey Dan! Great work on the design of your future Walipini greenhouse, I'd never heard of or seen one before, they look pretty awesome and very helpful if you are prone to strong gusts of damaging wind. I hope you are able to gather the funds to make it happen soon.

I look forward to seeing the process as you commence building!

Thanks @gardeningchef still lots to do and ill be updating along the way. Im sure ill find a way to male it happen hopefully before the growing season kicks off. Hope your well!

Posted using Partiko Android

I've always wanted to have a greenhouse but never got the courage to start a project that big. How long did it take you to build your current one?

About 5 days in total, longest part was laying the foundations and doing the block work the recycled ali greenhouse went up in half a day and the bit i built over 2 days. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

My first greenhouse took a lot longer than that to build...LOL

Haha my next one will take a bit longer, this one was very much rushed up and it shows, something im working on avoiding this time round

Posted using Partiko Android

Great idea and work my friend.I will do the same in Patagonia Argentina when i move there !

Keep doing the good stuff.

Thanks so much, Patagonia is a beuatiful place that id love to visit some day

Posted using Partiko Android

You will come to my log cabin for guesting people. I will try to do and Airbnb proyect in Patagonia... Or maybe a log cabin complex with permanent renters.

thanks for your time !

Sounds great, best of luck with your project

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you bro i will do my best to try to achieve my goals.

I hope you the best for you !

I am stoked you are busy planning the garden stuff and that walipini looks great...never heard of that term but have seen them and I reckon you could DEFINITELY build it out of scrap!!!

Sorry to hear things are tough.. Im sure things will pick up sooner or later. Life IS the ups and downs.. keep smiling and know you can count on us for support.

Post looks GREAT.. digging the headings, bullet points and dividers!! So good.

😉 Thanks for the pointers worked a treat.

Itll be built from as much recycled or second hand materials as possible good for the planet and my pocket 😄

Deffinatly ups and downs but im thankful to the great communities on here that ive learned so much from 🙂💚

Posted using Partiko Android

I grow indoors, but only because I have no other option. I dream of one day having a green house to let my herbs and veggies flourish! Thanks for sharing, this is going to be one of the few non cannabis post shared in our weekly recap!

Thank you so much and really appreciate the share in the recap! I grow my chilli/tomato seedlings indoors to give them a good start love the glow of the led lights on the plants, its a shame they grow so quick and need to go outside

Posted using Partiko Android

I can't wait to see what it looks like! Great planning, btw.

This is the type of greenhouse we are looking to build. In Colorado, we have tough winters and hot summers, so the hope is that we gain enough temperature regulation to grow year round, similar to what you are also thinking. I also love the look of them!

Have fun building! I can't wait to see what you come up with!

Xx ToL

Thanks so much, sounds like similiar issues faced in Colorado, i love the look of them too and im quite excited to see how it pans out. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99