Fix Shit Up! DIY tips-n-tricks #1

in #diy6 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians!
Wanna save money?
Wanna be cool?
Want to impress your friends and family?
Learn how to fix shit!

fsu1.gif

If you read my intro post, you'll probably surmise that I dig tinkering on stuff. Doesn't really matter, either - whether it's a dragster or a toaster that needs fixin', I'm just the kind of cheap bastard that hates shelling out my money for some overpriced repair guy to come to my house and charge me a week's pay to tell me I'm fucked. Or to have to schlep to a store to buy some new piece of junk to replace my old piece of junk.
So, without further ado, let's get on with it!

THE BATSHIT CRAZY MICROWAVE
BLowed-up-Microwave.jpg

You ever have a microwave that starts going all koo-koo, making loud noises, sparking and shooting lightning inside like it's gonna fuckin' explode?
What do you do - probably get all freaked out, run over and turn it off, then promptly chuck it on the curb with the trash and get a new one, because no way in hell are you gonna risk releasing a poltergeist by keeping this insane death-ray box on your kitchen counter, right?
mic2.jpg

99% of the time, the cause is this little piece of silver-colored cardboard. It's called the wave guide cover, and it protects the magnetron (I swear, I did not make that up, that's not a DC Comics villain). Sometimes, food can get behind that little cover, like some splattering butter from your shitty Mrs. T's pierogis. When this happens, all havoc appears to break loose.
microwave.jpg
So, go ahead and pop that little cover off. Now while the microwave is empty, try it for a few seconds. Is the craziness gone? If so, there's your cause.
BUT, don't use the microwave without it. And don't try covering that magnetron with anything else. That little piece is made from a material called mica, and it has a special coating. You can get pieces of this on ebay or through an appliance parts place. You don't even need to order that specific one, you can just order a piece and cut it yourself with an X-acto knife.
There. You just fixed your microwave for 4 bucks.

fsu2.png

I'll try to do a FSU tip every week, so keep checking back!

Sort:  

The lightning bolts coming from my microwave isn't normal ? haha

Yeah Nice post! I thought I was reading about me for a minute....

Can't stand shellin out the dow for something that isn't fucked! I can fix it myself (most of the time).

Interesting tip for the microwave, never seen that happen but than again I don't have one.

Thanks and following for sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67