Designer furniture on the budget - DIY furniture restoration

in #diy6 years ago

Hi everyone

So, I was not going to post today but I must process my thoughts and the best way I can think of is to type them up 😊. It might be the only type of therapy that you can get paid for! Instead of spending a lot of money on a psychologist you can share it with people that would support and understand you. If you are lucky you might even get an advice to solve your problem and if not well just rumbling about issues makes it feel a bit easier.

To get you all up to speed… we are building a house and got land all sorted. We went to colour selection last Monday and we got a quote back from the builder. Of course, we exceeded the budget and now we must look for ways to cut back. It wouldn’t be such a problem if I wouldn’t notice that some of the prices previously told us by the builder do not match the ones on the list, I need cross check all our emails that we exchanged previously to find the variations.

It is very confusing, and it got me wondering if it is all just a case of miscommunication or I should have a red-light moment before signing a contract. I will have a meeting with a builder on Friday and go through all the pricing and I'm hoping to straighten up all that confusion and move forward with the build.

On a good note I am very happy that my husband and I agreed on most of the things regarding the house and we like the same styles and features. It made selecting everything a lot easier and I can not imagine arguing about all little things that we were choosing. I hope we can work together to achieve the right house for our little family 😊.

As the new house is going to be bigger then the one we had, the need for extra furniture arise. We both really like the French provincial/farm house look but it can be costly investment, so I started to look on the internet for cheap/free pieces that would be good for restoration.

IMG_1631.jpg

In my next few posts I will share results of our efforts. We are just learning the art of recycling and discovering new skills every day. I hope you would like our first victim 😊.

I spotted that shelf for free on gumtree.
$_20.PNG

Lightly sand/cleaned it and it was ready to be painted.

20180222_201142.jpg

20180222_210745.jpg

We used chalked paint that is ideal for this type of restoration, nice matt finish and thick coverage.

20180222_210739.jpg

20180223_201653.jpg

20180222_203836.jpg

20180222_204551.jpg

20180223_132803.jpg

20180223_201704.jpg

20180226_181544.jpg

20180227_194011.jpg

After two coats of paint we waxed it with clear and dark wax for an extra aged look.
20180227_194020.jpg

20180227_194501.jpg

I also spotted new knobs that were on sale and they completed the shelf perfectly. Let me know if you like it? What are your favourite decorating styles?

IMG-20180305-WA0007.jpg

20180305_132448.jpg

IMG_1628.jpg

IMG_1635.jpg


Sort:  

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @tomekkk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible. Find out more about us on our website: www.steemmakers.com.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

That looks AMAZING!!! You totally changed the look of it!!
I also love the French provincial/farm-house look but I am not good at the whole creative DIY furniture... I wish I was!
Good luck with the new house! Im sure itll look cozy and beautiful :)
Am looking forward to see how it turns out :)

Thank you, we are trying to save some money by doing it ourselves, it seems that this style brings a big price tag on everything. I can not wait to put all this furniture inside the new house :)

Yes, that style has its price but its beautiful in the end! 😊 I know what you mean:)
Good luck dear @family.life!!💪🤗

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ewelina from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I upvoted and definitely following you what a beautiful project.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68031.50
ETH 3788.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68