Step 1, project deck

in #diy5 years ago

Finished step one. Went to Home Depot around 11am with my father while my mother watched the boys. We picked, I bought, we loaded all the materials to build a 16ft x 8ft deck outside the new double slider on the south end of the house. This has been a sort of dream sort of to do for a long time but NOW funds have worked out in our favor. @stryeyz and I have bantered about the idea for years so this is pretty exciting to begin the process.

My 5 1/2 year old wanted to help unload so after I unloaded 4 of the 24 twelve foot long decking pieces I had him try. I had him pick up the end of 2 pieces and I lifted the other en of them around as he pivoted and then walked forward. He was fully able to handle the weight and made it easily through all 20 sticks. Each one weighs about 35 to 40 pounds so he was holding about that for 10 trips from the trailer.

PROUD DAD MOMENT!

Honestly I had no idea he was that strong already since I have not gotten him to push much physically. Super cool to see and nice that he wanted to help.

After I finish this amazingly delicious IPA I will begin the process of taking down the pallet of a deck I have in now. With any luck tomorrow my Father and I will begin the construction.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

What a beast!!! I love to see little kids helping their dads do projects. It is so awesome!! Gotta teach them while they are your right?!? Is that decking the stuff made from recycled plastic bottles and what not? If it is my dad has the same stuff and we built his deck back in 1997. The main supports underneath rotted out so we tore the whole thing up and replaced the support beams. We then reused the decking material. It was still in perfect shape. It is definitely worth the money.
Looking forward to seeing how you deck turns out. Keep us posted and keep DIY’in

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is the recycled stuff and it is pretty nice. I am anxious to yet it installed and will have updates for sure.

I am having to learn to have my boys help as I am used to doing things alone, so this is a new world for me. It kicks ass to see him willing to work!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63549.78
ETH 3107.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88