We made a chair!

in #diy6 years ago

DSCF1001.JPG

My mother bought this cool chair by some people from Finland in an International market. It was really simple, just some sticks, collected by a rope, so we thought it would be possible to make ourselves!

DSCF0916.JPG

So we did!
Luckily Roberto's parents own a "wood factory" (I mean, the don't make wood, they cut it, right! For roofs mainly), so we had good access to wood and easy cutting!
The one my mother bought was made of oak, so nice wood. But we decided to try out with pine, since that was the most available and cheapest.

DSCF0995.JPG
Willow was very excited to help me take the photos!

I kind of thought this kind of chair was rare, because I never saw them before and thought it came from a small Finnish company, but as we made it, people came and said - oh they have those in that-and-that hotel! and Oh, my daughter has one too!
so okay, maybe they are quite well known, but that doesn't make it less beautiful!

DSCF0998.JPG

I also wondered if this company had the patent and we were breaking copyright laws.. but as long as we are not selling them I guess it's okay..?

DSCF1016.JPG

We chopped the sides of the wood to give it a nice soft "handmade" finish. Took a while, but I think it looks really nice!

DSCF0918.JPG

DSCF1013.JPG

As a last cool feature, it comes together like this and has two possible height adjustments

DSCF1015.JPG

Thank you for stopping by! <3


@frejafri

20180516_002249_0001.png

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Wow you did a good job, the view fit's amazing too, the green everywhere, it's healthy work outdoor, you surely had a good healthy day ^^
I love handmade stuff i am not able to work with the wood but u have a friend that made chairs and house objects it's so cool!

I have seen something similar in one of the shops in here and it was being sold for close to $150. It looks awesome the one you made!

oh yeah i forgot to mention that my mother paid more than 200 € for hers! but then we calculated that in oak it would cost around 70€ just in wood , so plus the work its understandable, though maybe still a bit high!

I wish I was crafty like that. My wife is, I'm not. But if you have the skill, then I say do it. Nice job.

Nice crafty work and easy way to own a chair. Looks veautiful too...never thought we can make one at home...

Posted using Partiko Android

I am impressed, great job my dear! I love the chair and don’t worry about the patent, I’ve seen many variations. 😊 Willow is so adorable. 💕

I have never seen such chairs before. Neat design and nicely recreated. I will definitely try to build one as well. Thanks for the suggestion. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94