Twin Micro Hydro Turbine Generator

in #diy6 years ago

This is a twin micro hydro turbine generator array that I built using two 12 volt 10 watt turbines. I tested it with it wired in parallel and in series. I did not have quite the water pressure that I needed from my gravity fed system so the voltages that I got both in series and parallel were not optimal but for testing purposes I found them sufficient enough to encourage me to later build a larger array.

twin-turbine-2.jpg

twin-turbine-3.jpg

twin-turbine-4.jpg

twin-turbine-5.jpg

twin-turbine-6.jpg

This is the voltage from when it was wired in parallel. I do not have a picture of the voltage of it wired in series but I was consistently getting around 11.5 volts. Again the voltages were low because of insufficient water pressure.

twin-turbine-7.jpg

Turbine Specifications:

  • between the wire resistance 10.5 ± 0.5Ω

  • Insulation resistance 10MΩ (DC100 megger)

  • the maximum pressure 0.6Mpa outlet closed

  • the outlet opening maximum pressure 1.2Mpa

  • Start pressure 0.05Mpa (7.25 PSI)

Mechanical properties and the operating environment:

  • axial clearance 0.2-1.0mm

  • mechanical noise ≤55dB

  • the weight of the Generator : 90g

  • generator life : ≥3000h

You can view the larger array that I built using six turbines here: https://steemit.com/diy/@jacobpeacock/this-is-a-micro-hydro-electric-turbine-array-that-i-have-been-experimenting-with

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95