DIY Candles Using Souvenir CupssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #diy5 years ago (edited)

I love candles. I like burning them for ambiance as well as soft light. I like burning them in the bathroom when I am taking a long bath with the electric lights turned off. Scented candles can relax your body and your mind.

I wanted to use a beautiful souvenir cup that I bought when I visited Alaska one year while cruising. The cup is larger than a coffee mug and would be more suitable as a soup mug.

rcxn1ub141.jpg

All pictures are original and were taken with my Canon 80D.

ryl5hzaw0d.jpg

I had all of the materials needed already but I haven't made a candle in a while. I needed candle wicks, candle scents, coloring blocks, metal tabs, wax, chopsticks or bamboo skewers and a thermometer.

j3t0i2ozh3.jpg

azhjjs8waz.jpg

The first step to make your own candle is to melt the candle wax. You can melt it in a double boiler, in the microwave or in the oven. I chose to melt it in the microwave using a pyrex mason jar. I had to cut the wax up into pieces that would fit into the jar.

09g33y3568.jpg

I added as many of the chunks to the mason jar that would fit. I had to melt some down before I could add the rest of the wax.

83cqqqdgr2.jpg

I started melting the wax in the microwave in 4 - 6 minute segments. You have to be very careful that you not leave the melting wax unattended while it is melting.

af3fqbc77w.jpg

If the wax is not melted all of the way then you add 2 minute segments at a time until all of the wax is melted. Stir the wax when almost all of it is melted and add the remaining chunks of wax.

The color block should be added after the main wax is melted. The scented block should be added last. The wick is prepared by threading it through the metal tab and crimping the string on the tab. The tab is placed in the bottom of the cup with a little bit of the wax to help it stay down.

Fill the cup almost to the top with the melted wax. Use the skewer or chopstick to keep the wick in a vertical position until the wax hardens. I made a little loop over the chopstick to hold the wick in place.

7bffyw6igz.jpg

As the wax cools, it will shrink some towards the wick. You have to add a little more of the melted wax to the cup to fill in the sink hole area around the wick.

zruyobfqea.jpg

When the wax cools off, I cut the excess wick off that I had wrapped around the chop stick. Leave around a quarter of an inch of the wick exposed in the candle.

rcxn1ub141.jpg

I lit the candle to see how it looks in the darkened bathroom. It looks very pretty in the large mug and it smells delightful.

3om8lqrt8u.jpg

This is a wonderful way to make use of odd cups or glass containers that you don't want to use for beverages or food. When the candle is completely spent, then you can clean out the mug and do it again.

Originally I was going to make two candles, but I didn't have enough wax for the two large cups. I made a small votive candle with the remaining wax.

p1ayicdzis.jpg

Votive candles are small and burn pretty quickly. My mold will actually make six candles but I only had enough wax to make one.

Make a candle, light a candle and relax. It's all good.

kfz7b6l754.jpg

Sort:  

The main thing that you did, and the rest you will do next time. Thank you very interesting

Excellent review, my friend, and you showed me how you can easily and tastefully make a candle and decorate your house! Thank you @jluvs2fly

What a creative idea @jluvs2fly. I love the use of souvenir mugs from different places you have visit.

I love the idea of making candles in decorative cups collected from traveling. Great project.

That's good, very creative.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jluvs2fly from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01