Just a quick note about fixing instead of replacingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #diy6 years ago (edited)

I woke up this morning to my lovely wife shaking me awake because the washing machine did not drain and is making a buzzing noise. So a quick inspection found that yep it was broke and I would have to figure something out.

Figuring that my old washing machine is on its last legs and that it was time to finally replace it. I stopped in to Freeburg Home Center and talked to Mike about replacing the old workhorse. After discussing options on a new one. He says you know it could just be a kids sock in the drain pump.

So after work I figured that I would tear apart the washer and test the motor and switches but first I would start with the pump. Sure enough after removing the pump from the motor I found a sock wound up in the impeller.

Tomorrow I am going to take Mike a case of beer with the sock on top as if not for his honest treatment of a customer I would have never troubleshot or fixed my old washing machine and he would have sold me a new one at $500+ just because I was tired of fixing the old stuff.

But nope I fixed it for $0 and an appreciation for humanity that someone would not just take advantage of a situation to make a buck.

In the long run I am going to buy all my appliances and furniture from Mike if anything because he treated me like a close friend even though we only met a handful of times before.

Moral of the story be quicker to repair instead of replace.

Sort:  

You Learn More From Failure Than From Success. Don't Let It Stop You. Failure Builds Character.

2 loads of laundry in and it is still working fine. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63055.19
ETH 3036.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71