From old and used to new and beautiful!

in #diy6 years ago

Before this project I haven't really done any wood working. I did make a pretty sweet wooden duck in middle school shop class, but that was 20 years ago... I love creating things and I love learning the process. I took welding classes, HVAC classes, try to repair anything that goes wrong around the house and things like that. So wood working is right in line with my interested, so it seemed right. My friend had a garage wood shop down the road and I started hanging out there and learning some skills. I told him I'd like to make a coffee table for my house.

I started picking out my lumber. He uses reclaimed lumber and had some stuff left over from his grandmother's barn. A lot of the wood was over 100 years old. The 4x4 post I chose for the legs looked like they might crumble as I pick them up. They were dingy, grey looking, and something you would feel like you should just chuck in the fire. I took the post and ran it though the planer... what came out the other side made me do a little happy dance. It was stunning... Beautiful Wormy Chestnut. Since that I have never been able to look at old crappy pieces of wood the same again, all I can think of is "what would that look like if I ran it though the planer?!"

IMG_2315.JPG
Before and after for the legs. I never would have guessed they would turn out so beautiful!

IMG_2287.JPG
The legs all set to have the top on.

The next step was the table top. I found some cool looking big 2x4 planks that I thought would look cool. Again I ran them through the planer and it was a crazy transformation. I really liked these planks because of all the character and history they held. You could see the old saw marks and nail holes from when they were a part of the barn. I tried not to sand or plane them too much to keep that character alive in the boards.

IMG_2291.JPG
A plank for the table top! This is actually 2x4s but from back when the piece would actually measure the full 2inX4in

IMG_2251.JPG
The planks ready to go through the jointer and be put together

IMG_2311.JPG
The finished table top after the finish

IMG_2328.JPG
The finished product. I left the edge of the table with the rough cut look and love it!

After a few days of hard work, some road blocks, and lots of little happy dances I have my finished product! It came out more beautiful than I could have imagined. It is a super burly coffee table that weighs more than our dining room table... but it should stand the test of time. Who knows, maybe in another 100 years someone will make it into something else.

Sort:  

I am glad that hard work finally paid off and that you are happy with the results. Table looks really nice :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60895.62
ETH 2917.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58