Mercantile Finds & Butter Recipe

in #diy7 years ago

20170801_134229.jpg

Yesterday, I spent the morning shopping at the local Mercantile where they sell local produce, canned goods, handmade candies, crafts and antiques. I found some really exciting foods like, yellow watermelon, sweet corn, red haven peaches, three loafs of fresh baked bread, organic cream and of course handmade chocolates.

20170801_124548.jpg

20170801_130626.jpg

I wanted to use the cream to make something special, the bread and sweet corn inspired me to turn this cream into fresh homemade butter.

This butter recipe is super easy, tastes amazing and is a great arm workout!

20170801_170511.jpg

Getting started:

Ingredients-
pint of cream
salt
cold water

Supplies-
jar with screw on lid
bowl
strainer
storage for completed butter

First step:
20170801_153704.jpg

Pour cream into jar, the cream should only fill the jar about a 1/3 of the way full. There needs to be enough room for the cream to get "splashing action" which turns the cream into butter.

Second step: shake
20170801_165000.jpg

Put the lid on tight and shake! It takes some time (up to 20mins) keep shaking continuously, the cream will start to whip. Shortly after the whip stage you will notice a change in the cream texture and start seeing granules of butter. Shake until there is butter and a seperation of buttermilk.

20170801_165338_HDR.jpg

Third step: straining
20170801_165544.jpg

Strain the butter and save the buttermilk. (buttermilk can be used for cooking or even drinking)

Fourth step: "washing"
20170801_170040.jpg

"Wash" your butter with cold water to rinse out remaining buttermilk. It will take 2-3 times of rinsing butter before the water will become clear.

Fifth step: drying
20170801_170210.jpg

Work water out of butter by folding it over a few times on a clean papertowel.

Final step: salting
20170801_170511.jpg

Salt butter to taste and then press into storage container.

Enjoy! I used my homemade butter on the bread from the Mercantile and on my grilled sweet corn.

After shopping and making butter I was in a cooking mood. I used the peaches from the Mercantile to make a peach vinaigrette dressing for a spinach and feta cheese salad. I sliced the yellow watermelon and grilled a skirt steak I had marinating in the fridge. Impromptu BBQ!

20170801_180856.jpg

I like to shop at local markets and stores to reduce my food miles, support small farmers, and eat the freshest foods.

As always I hope you enjoyed this easy recipe. If you guys have any questions or favorite Mercantile finds, please share!

Sort:  

Lovely food post! I like how you mention shopping local and reducing your food miles, very relevant points. I try to get organic local ingredients for all my recipes wherever possible. And I would love to try this recipe for homemade butter :)

The flavor of homemade butter is so much better! I hope you get the chance to make it.

Absolutely love this post. I make my own butter. You should check out my last post about the 100 Mile Diet it's all about shopping locally at Farmers Markets etc. Thanks for sharing. Following and upvoted.

That's beautiful. I've never had yellow watermelon. Does it taste different from red? I bake a lot of breads and there is nothing better than fresh made butter on fresh made bread. Wonderful!

The yellow watermelon is a little sweeter and the texture seems a little firmer.

Well next time you come see us, you better bring some! Looks amazing!

Congratulations @mygypsysoul! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great article @mygypsysoul! I would like to include this post in the next issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter which is a series posted every Sunday that aims to help collect awesome articles and resources like this one! This article will be linked and your username featured if you accept - please let me know if it is alrigh

Awesome thanks! I'll send a link when it is published! :)

Hey! Greatings from Venezuela! Good recipe, i invite you to visit my posts. we got pastry recipes that i'm sure will interest you. Join us!

lot of protein on your table, watermelon looks as pumpkin. Thank you for sharing this with us. One more menu in our tables

Wow! Looks amazingly easy to make. Perhaps even I could make it. Haha. 🐓🐓

Omg, your photos are so tasty and savory. I will try to cook this, but i think i will fail.

Thank you! The butter is so easy, fail proof! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56