DIY Valentines Decor

in #diy6 years ago

DIY Valentines Decor

I don’t typically decorate for small “holidays” like Valentine’s Day, but I was inspired by all the cute ideas on Pinterest and Instagram to make some decorations this year. Lately, whenever I decorate I prefer to have more natural looking décor and these projects I DIYed this past week were perfect for that! I love that I can still decorate without going totally overboard!

Here are a few of the projects I worked on last week!

Heart Shaped Rose Wreath


I’ve had this heart shaped wreath my mom picked up for me at an estate sale for about two years now and I had always been meaning to do something with it. When I saw the idea to put roses on a wreath I knew that the heart wreath would be perfect for this project. Again, I picked up the faux flowers from the dollar store to use for this. I needed about 9 bouquets total.


I took the flowers off of the stems and hot glued around the base of the flower. Then I placed them all around the wreath. I placed them rather close to each other so the wreath would be fuller. I liked this look better than when they were placed farther apart.
I just love how this turned out!


Burlap Garland


I made this awesome garland out of scrap burlap that I had lying around from when I make burlap pillows. I have so much burlap that I just can’t get rid of but have no clue what to do with! I tend to keep a lot of stuff for that “just in case I ever need it” moment. I am so glad I finally found a super cute use for some of it...I knew I kept it for a reason!!

I cut each piece with a template that I printed online. The pieces measure 9"L x 5"W. I made sure that the top of each one was long enough so it could be folded over when I sewed it on the twine.

Tip: To get the burlap to cut in a straight line you can cut a tiny slit at the top of the burlap, then grab a piece of the burlap string and pull it all the way out. You will see a space where the string was pulled out, cut inbetween that for a perfectly straight cut line!


Once the pieces were cut I painted the letters on with stencils I cut from paper. I used a small detail paintbrush to outline the letters with craft paint. Once they were outlined I removed the stencil and filled the letters in with a bigger paintbrush. I tend to freehand my projects more often than not, but if you don’t want to freehand it, you can use cutout letter stencils and a foam brush to paint the letters on. If you do this do not use a lot of paint because it could bleed outside of the lines and your letter will look more like a blob!

After the paint dries I sewed the pieces on over the twine. Fold the top half over the twine (about ½ inch) and sew it together. Don't make the mistake that I did and sew the letters on backwards. You should spell the word backwards as you sew it on. This was probably my favorite Valentine DIY so far!


Pitcher, twigs, and foam hearts


This was the simplest DIY decor project I have ever done. All you need is a vase or pitcher, twigs from outside and foam hearts that I got from the dollar store!
Since there was snow on the ground the day I decided to make this I wondered how I was going to get twigs. Luckily my grandma picked up a bunch of twigs a few days earlier when we had some warmer weather, so I just used those!

I placed the twigs in the pitcher and then I started hot gluing the foam hearts on the twigs. I decided to go with the solid hearts, but they also sold sparkly ones at the dollar store. You could also cut hearts out of craft paper, newspaper or felt. I liked the ones at the dollar store since they were pre-cut and the colors I wanted.

I love the way these DIYs turned out! Stay tuned for a few more DIY's I have planned out that I'll be sharing later this week!

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to read my post 😊💜

Sort:  

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team. If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot. An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

Thank you!! I accept!

Congratulations human. This post is featured in today's Muxxybot curation post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-curation-57

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56