Where My DIY Life Began

in #diy6 years ago (edited)

Where my DIY life began:


Hi Steemit Friends! Sorry I have been missing for a few weeks now. I have been working tirelessly on starting my very own blog ColzieGirl.com. This is a blog where I will share lots of DIYs, home decor ideas, and fashion & lifestyle. I am super excited about launching this past weekend!! To sort of re-introduce myself, I want to share with you about how I got started on DIY and where my talent comes from.

Growing up I've always been around remodeling and DIY home decor projects.My dad is super handy and can build or remake just about anything. And my mom is great at all the details of interior decorating. Together they built and designed two houses, one which they still live in.

As a young girl, I remember going on side jobs with my dad for carpentry. He would have my brother and I picking up scraps and fetching him the tools he needed.As the years went by my parents worked on a countless number of home improvement projects. When people see the work they've done they are always super impressed, and it is rather impressive, but for me I guess this was second nature! I couldn't imagine paying someone to do something that I could do myself!

How I started my own DIYs:

My love for DIY first began when I moved into an unfurnished apartment in college. I didn’t have a large budget but I needed furniture...and cheap! Well, cheap furniture isn’t exactly the prettiest!..hence the beginning of my DIY addiction.
The very first project I worked on was a beautiful maple desk I picked up at a garage sale for $15 bucks!! It was painted this awful yellow color...sorry I didn't take before pics back then! My dad helped me sand, repaint, stain and seal it!

My very first DIY!

When I first started DIYing it used to be my dad and I going to garage sales and refurbishing old furniture... that is until my mom got into it! Over the last few years junkin', thrifting and DIYing has become sort of a family affair! I'm pretty sure my mom loves garbage picking more than I do!!

Now that I've moved into my great grandparents old house I've been working to re-decorate it one DIY at a time. I've finished quite a few projects on my wish list (I'll be sharing those later on), but my list seems to be growing faster than I can DIY! For me decorating is never over and there will always be something I want to make or change…as my grandma always asks “what are you nuts!?”, yes grandma I am!, but I’m a girl who loves her DIY(and online shopping)!

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to read my post 😊

Sign up for the latest DIY updates and awesome home decor insporation on my website at ColzieGirl.com!

FOLLOW ME ON:

Instagram

Facebook

Twitter

💜Nicki

Sort:  

Neat! I've bookmarked your blog. I like your style. My mom has always wanted me to do this with her. Refurbish old furniture. And I've worked assistant to carpenter's before too. It's so neat what they can create with nothing but scraps sometimes.

You've got a new follower. :)

Thank you @intspekt! That's awesome! Have you done any refurbishing projects yet? I'd love to see them! Thanks for checking out my blog and following along!! :)

No. It's just a dream at this point. I don't live near my mom anymore, but if do, when I do, that's our hope for working together. I think it would be a lot of fun for both of us. I think the working together is half the fun on projects.

Welcome, good luck! looking forward to your future DIYs...

Thank you!!💕I am excited to share them all!

The furniture looks great!

You look like you already have quite a bit of experience, but, just in case this is a quick start guide that might help you further your message hope it helps:
https://steemit.com/steem/@marcuswahl/jump-start-quick-guide-to-steemit-beginner
welcomeguide.png

Thanks @ maruswhal :) I read the post and I learned a few new things on there. Thanks for sharing this with me!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66101.68
ETH 3023.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71