DIY bird toy #2

in #diy5 years ago

I tried myself on another bird toy. This time I used an egg carton as my base. Here is the completed result. Look how much the little fella already enjoys his new toy:


IMG_9887.GIF



I started out with poking holes into the four corners of the egg carton. Not shown are the first two horrible tries, where I complete failed to poke the hole straight.
image.png



Then I pulled some hemp rope through the holes and fixed them with simple knots at the bottom. I decided to use four single strings instead of two loops, as this will make it easier to attach it to the cage.
image.png



Then I took those huge paper pieces that Thors new cage was packed with and cut it into little strips.
image.png



I used two strips at a time and folded them cross-wise. In german this is called a Hexentreppe (witch steps). I have no idea what the english name would be, but I assume we all have made these things in elementary school.
image.png



I thought they would make a great distraction for the bird when attached to the bottom of the egg carton. With the carton being able to swing, I thought the dangling of these would catch a birds attention.
image.png



And that is already a finished toy. Here it how the product then looks.
image.png



When I let Thor play with an egg carton before, he kept destroying it. So I thought I pack a little surprise for him. I cut up fine strips of craft paper to fill my egg carton with.
image.png



I cramped them all into the little egg spaces and then closed the box.
image.png



To make the whole thing a little bit more optically attractive, I painted the egg carton with food colour. Dots were the easiest thing to do, so that is what I went with.
image.png



It was a lot of fun making this toy and I am looking forward to many more. Right now with the toilet paper roll and the egg carton, Thor's cage has a little garbage-vibe. Might have to find something a little more fancy at the Dollarstore. If you have any idea what cheap item (or household garbage) could make a good bird toy, please let me know in the comments.

Sort:  

Hello @sooflauschig, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Congratulations @sooflauschig! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 400 comments. Your next target is to reach 500 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94