DIY Upcycling For Income - 100% Free Finds I Saved & Sold For $2,119 - I'll Keep Proving That It's Possible

in #diy5 years ago (edited)

You CAN and WILL generate your own income if you know how to identify overlooked value and put in the effort.

This is fun and rewarding for me, so I feel that I haven't worked in almost 4 years. I have endless examples and will keep them coming.

Here are more FREE things I've found on the curbs near my apartment on recycling nights. I walk them home, list them, and someone who needs them buys them.

It couldn't be any easier, but hundreds of people walk by these things all afternoon and evening without a care. It's mind boggling and sad. I'm glad that I can at least do my part physically, but sharing this vision can do far more.

People often wish they had extra money to buy more crypto, pay off debt, or go to a conference. If you find motivation, get creative, and do the proactive work, you can.

Once you see the light and have some success, it's a one-way street.

You can't build muscle without exercising. You can't make extra money if you don't put the work in to break through your typical resistance levels. When you do something consistently, you'll grow and develop more than you thought you could.

Seek and you shall find.


Welch Allyn & Heine doctor scopes sold for parts for $153.

11 brand new lamp bases sold for $495 (10 to one buyer).

Rare working Radio Shack CD Walkman found in a trunk of electronics sold for $235.

Air purifier unit without filter sold for $175 cash.

Ritter dental equipment display cover sold untested for $180 within 12 hours of finding it.

Ritter dental equipment motherboard sold untested for $140 within 12 hours of finding it.

Rode Microphone sold for $140 cash (wish I kept this one).

Barre exercise setup sold for $80 cash (bonus for size saved).

Stationary bike trainer sold for $75 cash.

Three orthopedic back supports sold for $70, $73 & $73.

Sterling Silver bracelet and charm sold for $70.

Reebok fitness step sold for $60 cash.

Fitbit Charge sold for $50 cash (USB plug was not found).

Vintage fishing reel sold for $50.


Revenue is before applicable shipping and fees.

All free. All profit. All saved from being destroyed.

Start by looking around your home and neighborhoods. Listing and shipping something is virtually effortless when you compare it to sitting in a cubicle for 8+ hours after sitting in traffic on your commute.

Thanks for your interest,
@steemmatt

Sort:  

Matt, you really are good at this. It's your dharma. Keep it up .

Thank you. Coming from you in those words is a high compliment.

The streets are lined with GOLD!

Yesterday I walked towards a pile of old furniture and saw a man trying out a chair, picking it up, and taking it home. I thought of you obviously :D I wondered if he would use it himself or give it a bit of paint and sell it :-)

A lot of people take furniture and reupholster to add a lot of value to the item. The furniture they take is somewhat a framework to enhance, sort of like one of those basic cars people add ridiculous spoilers, engines and exhaust work to, but practical. If the chairs are good old high quality wood, some leather or a nice upgrade to the seat cosmetics adds a ton of value when sold the right way.

Wow, that is impressive! Do you actively cruise around looking for these things or are they just completely chance findings?

Recycling is put out on the sidewalks of the city avenues and streets around my apartment Monday - Friday, so I just casually walk about for 45 mins - 2 hours when I want at night to pluck whatever is obvious to take. I don't really dig much, so I miss stuff, but I tend to find plenty laying on the surface or in plain sight. The recycling is in clear plastic bags, and the paper stuff (books) are often in twine or cardboard boxes. I do occasionally find things around my city when doing normal activity, which I'll grab and take with me since it's free money. Funny you say that, because the FitBit was something I found by itself on the sidewalk as something that obviously fell off someone's wrist when they were walking.

So cool! You are definitely an entrepreneur, Matt ! :D Meanwhile I'm stuck doing my office job :(

But, at least it's a nice cushy job so I can't complain too much :D

Love seeing all sorts of things and their prices and how one person can just turn two bits of shinies from them if we only LOOK at the things other people discard around us :) Cool post <3 Love it!

Thank you for the nice comment! I had a nice cushy job once, but I just couldn’t see myself sticking with it, so I took a calculated risk to pursue my interests with determination and faith. It’s not practical for everyone, that’s for sure.

As for you, you can turn a blank canvas into a Monet with your ideas, so you know how to make your own value from passion. That’s an entirely different type of creativity and talent I wish u could do. I can only sketch silly cartoons.

You got the message! Beauty and value are in the eye of the beholder.

That sure is a gold mine over your way... !

Gold, silver, bronze, and even copper all have their worth. Keep those rural-based eyes peeled so you're ready to jump all over anything you happen to cross paths with.

That's usually sheep 😃

Amazon Search: heavy duty shears and a loom...

The king of flipping on steemit!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hell yeah. Ironically, if I only knew how to flip my crypto properly... Wahhh.

I can do it for you. Transfer it to me..

Posted using Partiko Android

Your post is all sorts of amazing, great to see the trash people throw around can still be turned into a nice profit and also that they are forwarded to the people who want them, instead of being crumpled into waste :).

Yes! You get what I mean exactly. I feel like I have to do this in some way since I’m aware of it. Ignoring it completely would make me feel like I was doing something wrong at this point. I have countless example to show that will keep you wondering how some people throw this stuff away. I’m used to it by now, but it can still be shocking for me at times. Thanks for stopping by.

Hehehe sometimes I'm quite tempted to put my old junk on the side street myself, with the council's permission of course, so people like you can make use of them. There are so much stuff that I feel other people can still use but I'm not sure how to give it without too much hassles. I feel somewhat bad of recycling them when I know they're still functional but no longer in use.

Where do you list/sell your finds @steemmatt? eBay? Craigslist?
I'm with you, but you sure live in an unusual area for this sort of
Stuff to be found on the curbside. In Smyrna Ga and Mableton
I have found rugs and bookcases, things like that, but those
Dr's scopes and the electronics are out of this world!
Upvoted and resteemed

Mostly those two sales channels. I admit that I do, but I truly never saw any of this stuff on the curbs for YEARS until I tripped on something and started looking. Everything looked like rugs and bookcases in the past until I took a closer look. If you're not near an area that has this type of volume or stuff, but are interested in experimenting, try to take a short trip to a nearby city to scout out their curb recycling in the evenings when the traffic is non-existent. Even if you only find one or two things in your area now, it's a nice win! Large apartment buildings, wealthy neighborhoods, or near small businesses in the cities are ideal targets.

Ha ha ha... I now live in Downtown Atlanta Ga.
I am almost 64, I have a Very bad hip,
so I can't run if someone comes after me. Down here, I
Do not know of any recycling "night" or period when it is dropped
Or picked up. In the more residential areas, maybe yes, but not
Here, right across the street from the MLK Memorial and tomb.
That blue area upper left is the reflecting pool around his
And Mrs King's Sarcophagi

!steemitworldmap 33.755357 lat -84.375108 long d3scr
Ga Beer Garden from window.jpg

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73