DIY .....Ducky Day on the HomesteadsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #diy6 years ago

28336569_979790445518479_3900637691131824054_o.jpg
I got rained in.... Or should I say sprinkled in. Lol and I had a minute to post. I thought some of my homesteading and permaculture friends might be interested in seeing my fancy duck huts.
IMG_20180712_055003.jpg

The wood I picked up free at the local sawmill from their scrap pile. I even made my latch from an old clothes hanger and it works greatIMG_20180711_134320.jpg
I got very lucky with purchasing the wire. I had a 20% off coupon for any purchase and it was on sale, I purchased extra as I knew a second Hut would be in my future.
I purchased 12 unsexed ducklings to start my flock.
I ended up with too many males and had to find homes for some of them. That was really tough.
IMG_20180808_104223.jpg
Last winter we just had the one Hut, a double panel Hut. I wrapped it in a black tarp and it was perfect for them. I've just recently added the second Hut as separating some of the males was necessary and for summer we shed the black tarp and went with this nice white one to help reflect some sun.
Ducks are water fowl and they need water to stay cool. With our water shortage they don't get their play pool everyday so the tarp really helps keep them comfortable. IMG_20180808_104245.jpg
As you can see it's nice and airy under the tarp. They have a nice big tree that shades them during the hottest part of the day. And they are portable!
Ducks do not like change I'm hoping by having this portable pen it will make the move easier for them.
One of the very first things we plan to do on the new property is a pond. And we are looking for ladies... Swedish ladies. My handsome guy needs his own flock IMG_20180808_145722.jpg

Y'all the Guinea are flying, fastest growing bird I've ever seen! Gotta go chop some weeds rain stopped .... Chop chop!

Thanks so much for stopping by the homestead
@SugarCreek

Yep original photos taken by me on my cheap cell phone IMG_1532806638090.jpg

Sort:  

howdy again sugarcreek! love all the photos, especially the top and bottom ones!

Ducks are crazy little things. Lol

Congratulations @sugarcreek! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @sugarcreek! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00