1st Gen iPod Touch Battery Replacement

in #diy6 years ago (edited)

4543.jpg

I found my 10 year old iPod Touch, in a box of old junk, the problem is that the battery is completely dead. It was dead beyond recovery, it even expanded so much that it partially separated the back plate. It made a gap wide enough to stick a knife in there and pry it open. Everything looks good and the data should be intact, this iPod contains over 2000 songs, most of which I forgot existed, basically my high school playlist. My childhood nostalgia is right here, just gotta get it working again. Easy, just got to replace the battery, the problem is they dont make these batteries anymore.

DSC_0035.JPG

I took out the battery and marked which one was positive and negative and theres another connection, Im guessing temperature? It doesnt matter, I just need a 3.7 Volt Li-ion battery. Just so happens my last phone kinda got ran over by multiple motorcycles after it fell off my bike while on the track, and its now in 5 pieces, so I will just use that battery.

GOPR0069.JPG

Just a little solder and some hot glue, and BAM!!!, just like that it now works!!! I soldered another wire to the top to connect the ON sensor to ground. I just need to tap the wire for it to turn on.

DSC_0038.JPG

Yes!!!

I dont plan on making this portable though, I just want to go though my old playlists again. I also found that this has over 500 family pictures that were lost. I need to find the old USB connector now.

DSC_0039.JPG

Sort:  
Congratulations This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community-based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible.

Join our Discord Channel to connect with us and nominate your own or somebody else's posts in our review channel.

Help us to reward you for making it ! Join our voting trail or delegate steem power to the community account.

Your post is also presented on the community website www.steemmakers.com where you can find other selected content.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

@theelectronoob you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66101.68
ETH 3023.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71