DIY Electric Foundry

in #diy6 years ago

I finally decided to build a electric foundry for aluminium casting, rather then charcoal or propane. As you can see from my past startups from my propane foundry, it can be dangerous, also polluting the environment. I always thought the neighbors would call the fire department or something. Its about time I switched.

rocket motor_Moment.jpg

I bought some heating element and tested it out, it should be enough to melt aluminum. The coil is about 2 meters long and has a resistance of about 15 ohms. This draws about 7.5 amps with a total power of 850 Watts. This might not be enough but I left in excess to experiment with the length later.

DSCN3280.JPG

Next I found a box that was big enough to make as a base, then tapped all of the openings.

DSCN3258.JPG

I used Plaster of Paris, Play Sand, and Concrete (to increase the longevity of the furnace). Plaster of Paris should allow the water to seep out so hopefully no explosions. Just to be safe I will heat it up slowly for the first time.

DSCN3263.JPG

Time to mix everything, I used 1/2 Plaster, 1/2 water, and threw in a cup of concrete per half bucket.

DSCN3265.JPG

Poured it into the box to 2.5 inches high and let it dry.

DSCN3270.JPG

Then I put the inner box inside and filled it up the rest of the way. Now its time to let dry and put the heating element in and wire it up.

DSCN3278.JPG

Im currently in the process of making it, I will post the results soon.

Sort:  
Congratulations This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community-based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible.

Join our Discord Channel to connect with us and nominate your own or somebody else's posts in our review channel.

Help us to reward you for making it ! Join our voting trail or delegate steem power to the community account.

Your post is also presented on the community website www.steemmakers.com where you can find other selected content.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

Wow! Very cool! Please keep the updates coming.

Congratulations @theelectronoob! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63715.95
ETH 2946.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55