So I'm planning to build a DIY RGB + bi-color cinema LED light panel!

in #diy6 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemit! This is my first post here! I recently have been putting a bit of time into building my own cinema LED light and since I work in video production I made a 2-part VLOG series about it.

A little about the project. The LED light I'm building is based off of a $6,000 USD ARRI SkyPanel, which is used in big productions everywhere. It's a great light due to it's ability to produce warm and cold (daylight and tungsten) colored light as well as, wait for it.... any color you want! It mixes the RGB LEDs together with the bi-color LEDs to create any color/saturation and intensity you want. Normally you would have to hang color gels over the light for this, so it's pretty amazing to have it all in one light.

There are a lot of videos out there showing you how to build LED lights but ZERO that show you how to make RGB + bi-color lights. So I decided to do it :) and I did for about $200-250 CAD!

I've never even soldered wires together as an adult (I did some with my dad when I was a kid), so there was a big learning curve for me, but I pulled it off with really great results!

Enjoy part 1 of the experimental phase of the project and part 2 (the actual build video) I'm editing now and will be out soon.

Let me know what you think!

Video Link

Sort:  

Good on you Tristan! That is a friggin terrific post! You're a natural in front of the camera by the way. I re-steemed it onto my page and onto steemfilm's page as well. The game has begun!

Thanks Brian :) It's so much harder than I could imagine but still plenty of practice to go to!

Things are in the works that will make your head spin. Just keep blogging and watch for emails from me. Come mid 2019 the world of Steem will change.

Congratulations @tristanjevans! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

This looks awesome!! Can't wait for part 2

Thanks :) I will keep you posted!

Congratulations @tristanjevans! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @tristanjevans! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @tristanjevans! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48