DIY Decor and Navy Homecoming!

in #diy6 years ago (edited)

Don't worry; I did not fall off the face of the earth. On the contrary, I am alive and well, just very busy but extremely happy. Since my previous post I got a promotion and have been working more hours, finished some DIY projects, and my man returned from deployment. Quite busy, but I can't complain. I've never been happier! Before I reveal the completed pallet project you've all been waiting for, allow me to share some photos from our first deployment homecoming.

IMG_0658.jpg

IMG_0661.jpg

Though we were only apart for three months, it felt like three years. Like the anchor in the above photo, my man keeps me grounded and secure. He is all the things I am not, he's strong where I am weak, and inspires me to be a better person. I'll never forget the way I felt when I first caught sight of him after the ship was pier-side. The boatswain's mates were still mooring the lines when my phone rang. It was Michael calling to tell me where he was standing on the deck. I anxiously made my way through the crowd until I was parallel with the middle of the ship, and there he was.

IMG_0676.jpg

IMG_0664.jpg

IMG_0671.jpg

Upon seeing him, there was an instant bolt of joyful electricity that shot through me like lightning. I've never felt so full of pure joy. Before he returned I had reached a point where I almost forgot what it was like to have him home, to see him every day, and to live life together. Now that he's back it's like we never skipped a beat and I'm happier than ever. It's nice to have a man in the house again and I have to admit, I put him straight to work. I had just recently finished my pallet project but let him do the hanging because I didn't want to mess up the wall. So without further ado, here it is:

IMG_0719.jpg

My plan for this project changed several times, which is why it took so long to finish; I couldn't make up my mind. But the final results were worth the wait for inspiration because I like this better than what I originally had in mind. For the map painting I printed a 16x20 world map at Walmart and made my own stencil. After painting the map I realized it was a little too small for the wooden canvas so I decided to string travel photos around the border. On either side of the pallet map we hung two old-world maps that I bought at Goodwill for .99 cents a piece.

IMG_0720.jpg

While Babe was gone, I also made a few other things. I turned our key hook into a key and leash hook, and I painted "his" and "hers" football logos on wooden plaques. His football is American football and his team is the Buffalo Bills, while my football is real football (aka soccer) and my team is Chelsea FC.

IMG_0717.jpg

IMG_0710.jpg

IMG_0712.jpg

Thank you for reading! If you're interested in reading more about the beginning stages of the pallet project, check out this post https://steemit.com/life/@vwd/sneak-preview-pallet-project

Sort:  

I love your map project! It’s turned out great!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63041.44
ETH 2985.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61