My first major diy project - wedding bouquet

in #diy6 years ago (edited)
When I was in high school, whenever we have a project in home economics, I usually ask for my brother's help or would ask my mother to do it. More often than not, they would decline my request and end up doing the projects on my own. I wasn't artistic then, so I would end up copying my brother's work. Haha.

Fast forward to when I started working. Whenever there are special ocassions like birthdays or christmas parties at the office, we would decorate the area of the birthday celebrant or the whole office (for christmas/halloween/valentines). As a newbie, I was tasked at the decorations. No I wasn't the head artist/decorator (whew!). I was just assisting in the cutting or putting up of decorations. I still lack in the artistic skills department. But as time passes by, I learned a thing or two in decorating. I become passionate about it. So by the time the throne was passed on to me, I already had some ideas on what to do. Thanks to Pinterest! I got most of the ideas there.. When I had somehow mastered the craft, one of my officemates asked for my help.

She was getting married and wanted the idea of DIY. She asked me to help her in her little project. Without even knowing what it was, I said yes without hesitation. By then I was enjoying doing arts and crafts. It was my way of releasing stress at work.

When we got to sit down for a meeting on what I could help her with, she said she wanted me to make her wedding bouquet. Her wedding bouquet!!!! Honestly, I silently freaked out. It's a once in a lifetime event and it's a big responsibility. I don't want to mess it up. The bouquet would be in a lot of pictures! But I don't want to turn her down, so I accepted the challenge.

I started searching for inspirations, as usual in pinterest. I showed what I found out to my officemate. When she finally chose the one, she said she trusted me that I can do it. Wow big words! It's my first major DIY project and I know I had to do it good.

The Process
I gathered the materials needed for the project. We went to Quiapo and Divisoria to scout for the materials. Since it was a diy, it should also be money savvy.

Materials needed:

  1. Styro foam
  2. Glue gun
  3. Glue stick
  4. Ribbons
  5. Stick
  6. Candle
  7. Swarovski (flat)
  8. Lace

IMG_20160814_200744.jpg

Originally, she wanted real flowers. But when she learned that it costs a thousand pesos, she opted for diy.

For this diy bouquet, the budget trimmed down to more than half of the total price of the real one. Good thing about this diy is that you can keep it forever. It's last longer than the real ones.

When we bought everything we needed, I started creating the bouquet. It wasn't a full time thing, I still have to work, so I only do it during my free time. I thought it was easy. But it wasn't. So I asked for help. I needed more manpower to finish it on time for the wedding. I don't want the bride to be holding nothing on her special day.

Thankfully it was finished before the big day. Sleepless nights paid off. I was happy with the outcome. I never imagined that I can create something like that.

On the eve of the wedding, my friend and I went to the hotel where the bride was staying to check on the bouquet and do some finishing touches. I put some swarovski to add shimmer on the bouquet when she walk down the isle. I also made a bouquet for the maid of honor, corsage for the bridesmaid and boutonnaire for the groomsmen.

Even though I didn't get paid for the service, the happiness I saw from the bride was worth it. The appreciation I get from the guests was more than enough. And as I have said, it was my way of releasing stress. So it's a win win for us.

What I learned from this experience was to never limit yourself on the things you could do. I wasn't a born artist, but with motivation and the urge to learn something, you can do it.

You also have to trust in your abilities. It was a big responsibility, but you just have to believe in yourself and put effort in what you do, you will be surprised with the outcome.

Ladies and gentlemen, the final output.

IMG_20161031_060444.jpg

The bride
FB_IMG_1519555318912.jpg

My diy project
FB_IMG_1519555281861.jpg

Sort:  

wow, so beautiful! I can imagine that in many other colors and so many women happy :)

Oh wow! That is one beautiful bouquet. I am not creative or artistic at all and I totally get what you were saying on your blog. But for you to be able to do this with just practice is just wow. I always look for DIY projects in pinterest too but I never made any project at all (I just look at them. LOL). Congrats on your first major DIY project. It was totally a success. :)

Thank you for appreciating my diy project. 😊 It was a bit scary at first but with the help of my friends I was able to do it. If you do want to do something, you just have to believe in yourself and practice until you master the craft 😊

it looks real! i like it! :) keep up the good work! ^_^

You have been scouted by @promo-mentors. We are a community of new and veteran Steemians and we are always on the look out for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.

When you are there send me a message if you get lost! (My Discord name is the same as here on Steemit)




You got a upvote of 2% from @danzy courtesy of @wandersells!

Omg!!!! It’s so pretty!!! The color is a WOW!

Thank you 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66991.04
ETH 3101.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74