Knitty.com - Spring + Summer 2019

in #dlike5 years ago (edited)


Source

The Spring & Summer 2019 Knitty issue has been released and as always there is a great selection of free knitting patterns and tutorials!

Just in case you don't know, Knitty is 'the longest-running free knitting magazine on the web'.

This issue has some great lace tops, shawls and a pair of socks ! The purple top you can see in the photo actually combines a crochet yoke with a knitting piece.

This time I think I'd go for Vanora, but I'd quite like to add some sort of sleeves :D

I decided to try and add a bit more text to this post so apologies for the 'updates' :D


Source of shared Link

Sort:  

Kikyo is very pretty with the combination of crochet and knitting. I might try Opportune - I've been wanting to learn how to do a hood. I like the idea of making it longer as a swimsuit cover up. Like you, I'd want some sleeves, though :)

I do like sleeves even if they're short - with that mesh style stitch I don't think it would become too thick anyway, @shanibeer :D

As always they have such nice free pattern. I think I like the slouchy one and the Lis shirt :-)

Oh, very interesting, @neumannsalva, both make use of linen. Do you have that sort of yarn in your stash?
I've never used linen but I reckon that sort of yarn would give it the right drape for the pattern :D

Incidentally, today I learnt that you can also do (dry / needle) felting with natural fibres like linen and cotton. !

My linen choice was chance not choice 😂 I simply liked the fit of these designs. I up today have never used linen yarn and sadly also have none in my stash. It is very seldom here, mostly from Japanese companies and very expensive. (Now as I write it, no idea why the German companies seldom use it...)
And with the felting, I have no idea of the raw linen product (isn‘t it nettle?) for felting. Do you make it yourself? I think I am still a felting dummie 😱

Ooo thanks for the link @cryptocariad. So many nice patterns!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87