Chicken soup with homemade noodles

in #dlike5 years ago

share-with-dlike.jpg

Last night I was craving chicken noodle with chewy, wide, hearty "noodles," so Bunny and I decided to make some together. 

To make the noodles you combine about 2 cups of AP flour with about a cup of water (add more flour or water a little at a time as needed) until you have a smooth, elastic, workable dough.  Knead for about 5-10 minutes until the dough is no longer sticky, then let it rest for 20-30 minutes, covered in saran wrap, on a floured board.  Roll out the dough as thick or thin as you like and cut into noodley shapes. I use a pizza cutter for this.

The soup was a snap to make since I already had a couple of quarts of veggie stock in the freezer plus a leftover roasted game hen from last week, so I defrosted the stock, added in some carrots, parsnips, and celery, brought it to a boil, then dropped in the noodles.  They cook up in about 5 minutes, and best of all retain their al dente chewyness (because they are so thick), rather than sogging-up like regular pasta.

If you have never made homemade noodles, give it a go.  You don't need any fancy equipment, trust me.

PS I am only using roasted game hens for my chicken noodle soup from now on.  The flavor was ohmygodtodiefor.


Source of shared Link

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing this new and spicy dish with us. i also tried in my home. i enjoyed chicken noodle soup with noodles that i already had in my kitchen. thanks again for this delicious dish

Making your own chicken stock is easy and flavorful. I believe it is the key ingredient in any soup.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68