Minted Zucchini Soup with Mascarpone

in #dlike5 years ago

share-with-dlike.jpg

Another recipe to show that pretty much everything I make is easy--it just tastes fancy.

All I did here was saute 5 sliced Korean zucchini (they are plumper and lighter in color than regular zucchini)--maybe 2 lbs worth--in olive oil and butter along with one chopped onion and 5 cloves of chopped garlic. Wallie, age 5, was my sous chef and chopped the zucchini and garlic with her trusty butter knife.

After about 10 minutes I added 3 cups of chicken broth and let it all cook until the zucchini was very soft. Then I dumped in a can of cannelini beans (barely drained, you want to use some of the liquid), and then whizzed the whole thing until smooth with my stick blender.

The soup is delish and can be served at this point (it's creamy enough because of the beans), but just to gild the lily (and because I was ridding my fridge of holiday leftovers), I spooned in 8 ounces of mascarpone cheese (light cream cheese would work if you can't find mascarpone) into the puree and let that melt into the soup. (Do not let it boil.) Just before serving I tasted for salt and pepper. I ladled the soup into bowls and topped with mint chiffonade (and more pepper for mine). Both girls gave it two thumbs up and an "Mmmmm!"


Source of shared Link

Sort:  

Congratulations @sang-hun! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts. Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67