You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Facebook knows a lot about me - here's everything I found | CNBC

in #dlike5 years ago

@vimkuthi, I have actually done some research on this earlier this year when I followed up on the incident where Mark Zuckerberg sold facebook data to an advertising company. The whole scandal actually slipped my mind until @crypto.piotr sent me a memo detailing the content of your post. Reading this has brought back some info that I read up on...

I did watch a few hours worth of youtube videos that was about the court session that took place where Mark Zuckerberg was questioned about his actions. It was actually quite scary at the fact that they control so much info and can do just about anything because they have enough money to pay their way out of many illegal activities. I remember so many people were like, "He's and alien" or "He is a psho, no emotion..." and that was somewhat funny. I had facebook for about 4/5 months, but it was only for playing Clash of Clans (for the friend list :D), but I deleted it because my mum posted a few embaressing pics of me and tagged me in them... So I deleted it because that was just so bad hahahaha.

I am a very paranoid person in nature... it runs in the family, so hearing all that happened I was glad that I didn't post anything during my time using the social networking site. I even went through a hectic phase covering my webcam with tape, but then realized a few months later that the government may already have so much recordings of everyone that I didn't bother with the tape.

Sorry for the long comment, but when talking about cyber security, breaches, hacking and regards to user information, I can go on forever... This was a great post, Upvoted and Resteemed :D

Sort:  

Hi @shadown99

I am a very paranoid person in nature...

That must be a bit hard. Im naive and I trust people. I burn myself a lot but I would not like to be paranoid. I can only imagine that life must be way harder.

I wonder if Steemit Inc. will ever follow their footsteps. I believe it's just a matter of time before we will introduce ads to Steemit and then they will work on targeting ads, which will result in collecting our data.

What do you think?

Have a great weekend ahead,
Yours
Piotr

Hey @crypto.piotr
I've actually learnt to live with my slightly paranoid nature :) It's not that hard when your mind is constantly thinking of every possible outcome lol... I have been told by a psychiatrist that I have psychopathic tendencies, but I am not one because I fear consequence... This actually helps in reality because my mind is very calculative so I think of all the possible outcomes to be able to find the best possible way to do something.... So life isn't actually that hard (well to me) because I tend to think a lot before doing anything :)

I would really hope that steemit remains the way it is and they don't introduce ads, because then it will obviously affect us negatively like what happened with Facebook...

Sorry about the late reply, I hope your weekend has been going well :D

Thanks for dropping by @shadown99

I'm so glad that I had a chance to get to know you lately. You're so very responsive and supportive. LOVE IT :)

Sorry about the late reply, I hope your weekend has been going well :D

No need to say sorry. Im glad you found time to reply :)

Yours
Piotr

I actually like long and detailed comments. You'd be even more paranoid if you knew about Facebook's patents. I've covered few of them before:
https://steemit.com/privacy/@vimukthi/special-alert-facebook-files-a-patent-to-turn-on-the-mic-without-your-knowledge-to-spy-on-your-tv-habits-or-does-anybody-know

https://steemit.com/facebook/@vimukthi/the-trail-of-facebook-patents-leading-to-its-atlas-shrugged-esque-end-the-new-tech-will-be-eating-some-profit-margins

The worst part is when you don't add any o your own info but your friends and family tag you onto everything.

That is some scary shit @vimukthi :/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91