How to OPT OUT of Private Data Sharing on FB, Google, Twitter, Iphone

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

Many of us are starting to get hip to the idea that we do not want our personal data sold to private advertisers without our consent.

I was inspired by a set of instructions posted by Dave Godowsky at his website http://www.davegodowsky.com/theinternet to test out exactly how easy/difficult it was to "opt out" of data sharing on these various platforms.

SPOILER ALERT - It took just over 5 mins and was super easy!!

@benleemusic

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

I'd also recommend installing the EFF add-on Privacy Badger to your browser of choice. Lets you see all trackers and selectively block them (just in case for some reason an opt-out isn't taken seriously)

Thanks for the tip!

Okay, wow. I thought I was doing everything right already but some of these things I was not doing properly, especially the iphone settings. Thank you so much! It's so crazy to think about all the many different ways we are being spied upon every day. Your tutorials are so helpful. In fact, I was grateful to you today when I bought steem with my SBD. You taught me that! : ) Thank you! ♥-serena

Awesome! Well done. We are all learning together!!!

We recommended this post here.

We are Discover Steem, if you like our work consider giving us an upvote. :) If you don't wish to receive recommendations under your posts, reply with STOP.

I don't get it. How is this relevant. Smells like SPAM to me

hai .. a very good post. i like your post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70434.55
ETH 3761.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84