Mesmerizing Pour Painting Video

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

I got a wild hair to try pour painting, so I did it! This was so fun and I'm definitely making more pour paintings!

I didn't have all the supplies (nor the proper set up haha) so I improvised and I used a teeny bit of olive oil (instead of silicone drops) to create the cells, and I covered everything in old cardboard boxes and garbage bags to protect the surface haha.

I think for a first attempt this was pretty successful! We shall see how it dries after I apply a gloss varnish when the paint layer is dry in a few days. I'll share the results when it's totally dry in a week or so.

Will definitely be sharing my experiments with different solutions for this (as I'm wary about using olive oil with acrylic paints in terms of longevity, I think alcohol drops may be better next time), and creating a less wasteful set up (I don't want to keep using disposable cups and I want to find ways to up-cycle the dry paint that falls into the tray).

Stay tuned!

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

This is mesmerizing, I can see putting up some of these around the house!

Oh it’s happening! I want to try making the geode-looking ones next time.

That's pretty neat! I never would have guessed such a simple method could create such beautiful work.

The simplicity of it is an illusion haha. Prior to the pouring part of it, you have to mix each of the paint colors with at least two mediums (like silicone and floetrol is what a lot of people use according to internet pour painting blogs) that will create the "cells" (the circles and separations between paint layers), and getting the consistency right is a bit tricky. I just did another one yesterday with alcohol instead of olive oil to create the shapes. There's a LOT of supplies used with this method (cups, stirrers, all that paint, mediums, varnishes) and requires some experimenting so it's a pretty wasteful method to begin with...but it creates gorgeous results! I'm working on ways to up-cycle the "waste" from the process and make art from that too.

Congratulations @berrythief! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61769.55
ETH 2910.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64