Thoughts About Perfectionism- Inspired by @berrythief's post

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

IMG_E3739.JPG

Thumbnail

Hi Everyone,

I was really inspired by @berrythief’s post about creative blocks, procrastination and receiving everything you desire.

It really got me thinking about perfectionism.

I grew up in Australia on TV sets, so I had someone taking care of my wardrobe, makeup, lighting etc… which was really fun! But it definitely bred perfectionism!

Also making music, it seemed to be about spending years writing songs, making an album, getting it all perfect then releasing it to the world.

There’s a lot of beauty to that process, but recently I’ve found it really freeing to stop trying to get everything perfectly packaged and just put stuff out there!

What I’ve found so great about Steemit, is that there’s really no room for perfectionism.

If you’re going to post consistently, for sure put in the effort to make good content--don’t be lazy--But you can’t overthink it. You kind of just have to put it out there!

I think this is such a healthy way of doing things!! Just being raw, real and letting yourself be seen with all your flaws!

xo Bonnie

P.S. Thanks to @berrythief for such a thoughtful, vulnerable post and to @paolajane for resteeming it which is how I found it!

P.P.S. I was having trouble fitting the word 'perfectionism' into the thumbnail, and it was bugging @markvicente too, but I decided to not be a perfectionist and just post it anyway!

P.P.S. As you can see in the video, I forgot my gimble today, so the picture is all wobbly, but also in the spirit of not being a perfectionist I decided to just do it anyway! Sorry about the wobbles

Come follow me!

Instagram:
website:
Facebook:

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Nothing Is Perfect – But we can improve as we evolve...BTW Imperfect things create more opportunities...

Yes yes! Totally agree re opportunities coming from imperfect things...

I don't consider perfectionism to be problematic, provided that it is worked upon at one's own pace. It was the great poet William Blake who wrote in his "The Marriage of Heaven and Hell" that "Eternity is in love with the productions of time" which is sentiment that I quite agree with.

I'm also quite in agreement that it is most important for everybody to feel that they themselves are "good enough" at all times, but that is not usually something which perfectionists allow themselves to experience—even upon their having made something that is perfect.

As a man, I'm much more attracted to women who do not wear make-up. Methinks it has to do with the way that Nature is, as in the natural world it is the males of each species—whether plant or animal—that are brightly feathered, long-furred, and flowered, whereas it is the females that are camouflaged and hidden in plain sight.

Having a clear complexion from regularly detoxing and a diet that consists only of health-promoting food ingredients, is the best form of make-up, if you ask me. It is make-up from the inside-out, rather than the outside-in.

During the 1980s, shoulder pads in women's clothing was the fashion because it made women to look like men, but equality between the sexes has nothing to do with women making themselves to be masculine; as that is as much a form of inequality as the lack of equal pay for equal work.

Equality is about meeting each other in the middle from being respectful of each other's differences, and therefore without trying to change, deny, control, or censor th'other's existence. I don't want for men and women to be the same. I want for each person to be different because each person is uniquely talented. I'm glad that underneath it all, at the very least, each person has their own opinions, actions, emotions, thoughts, and aspirations because it makes teaching ourselves and each other how to make shared goals to happen all the more rewarding.

Regarding perfectionism whilst posting at Steemit, it is important, though, for every Steemit user to be mindful that unlike Twitter where posts can be deleted, posts at Steemit cannot be deleted due to the blockchain technology that it is based on.

So Roseanne Barr, if you happen to be reading this, please remember that!

Then again, because there is no censorship at Steemit, the culture here is much more forgiving of imperfect posts; unlike at Twitter and Facebook. I am grateful that the decentralized infrastructure of Steemit doth make it possible for art, humour, and opinions to be freely expressed, which is one of the reasons I did register an account.

I hope that more users at these Steem-based social media platforms will come to realize that because the blockchain technology they are based on is decentralized, that means users can finally relax and move forward from th'oppressive cultures of political correctness that are so prevalent at Twitter and Facebook, and which are each themselves a form of toxic-perfectionism.

Thank you, Bonnie for your having published your "Thoughts About Perfectionism" post. I enjoyed reading it, watching its video, reading the posted replies it received from others, and posting mine own replies to it, too.

It seems perfectionism is the enemy of creativity. Creativity is for self expression! I like how @coruscate pointed out in her video today to ask over and over again, "How can I make this better?" For me, creativity should pour out raw first, and then I can ask, "how can I make this better." One thing I enjoy about Steemit is the small amount of people who use "the youtube voice." You know the youtube voice? I hate it. I want to see people as people. I hate when people copy the way everyone else presents themselves in their videos and then copies it. I find in the couple of videos I've made I feel weird publishing them because I didn't do up my hair and makeup. I just pulled out my phone when I felt inspired on my morning walk or something. I'm just not the type right now to polish myself up and rehearse videos with a voice. Maybe in the future, who knows. Me, I just like to share my inspiration when it comes in a raw and real way. Healthy self expression.

Yes me too!! Nothing like a little hit of inspiration and recording it right then and there! Sometimes it's fun to get all dressed up if that feels like the right thing to do that day... but I'm all for posting raw and real the majority of the time!

My friend is one of those perfectionist and we spend hours just discussing about finalizing something that we jointly do like writing, or preparing reports. Its fun at times but not so much all the time.
Great content btw. I try to go though yours whenever i can.

Thanks for stopping by @cave-man... and haha yes I hear you re your friend! Sometimes I am that friend, steemit is helping me a lot!

Awesome Bonnie, love your strong, clear message. Its perfect! Well... you know what i mean :)

Ah thank you @goldmatters! This was a perfect comment too! 🌟😂

Analysis paralysis. The struggle is real.
I have four posts I've half written, and many more rattling around upstairs.
At some point you have to just bite down hard, pull the trigger and risk mixing your metaphors.

Haha yes I feel you Matt! It's so hard to pull the trigger sometimes... but very healthy I think!

Perfection is just a concept. Life is a continuous journey in which we learn every time. Perhaps this is the beauty of life that it never becomes perfect.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55