Tinfoil Hat Rhapsody - STEEM Original Music Collaboration

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

Lyrics by @nobyeni - 1/2 SBD payout from this post will be split with your resident philosopher (@nobyeni)

A couple of months ago @Nobyeni dropped some lyrical genius on the world in the form of this satirical parody of Queen's immortal classic Bohemian Rhapsody:
https://steemit.com/tinfoilraps/@nobyeni/tinfoilhat-rhapsody-by-philoqueen

Because she is a sadistic sort, she challenged me to cover her cover song. I am finally getting around to it! I knew the whole time I wanted to come up with completely novel music rather than do another straight cover of the Queen song (albeit with hilarious philosophical lyrics).

Let me tell you, this was one of the hardest songwriting challenges I have taken on in a while. I like to think that if you give me lyrics I can poop a song out in a couple of minutes without really straining. This was different. Bohemian Rhapsody is so engraved in my head that I really had a difficult time coming up with a different melody line to sing. In the end I sort of copped out because this is only half the lyrics, but it is already 3 1/2 minutes long and felt like a complete song to me. So it is what it is and you get what you get :)

TInfoil Hat Rhapsody - the @carlgnash version

Lyrics by @nobyeni
Music by @carlgnash

LYRICS
Is this the real truth?
Is this just fantasy?
Some paranoia
No escape from reality
What is the truth
Look (at) the TV and see
I'm just a small fish, give me some lie
Because I'm easily told, easily sold
A little truth, little lie
Anyway the truth goes, doesn't really matter
to me
just lie
to me
just lie

Fear, just killed the truth
Put a lie against its fact
Pulled a uwee, now it's gone
Fear, truth had just begun
But now it’s lost and facts’ gone all astray
Terror, oh oh
Didn't mean to go to war
If I don’t know the truth this time tomorrow
Carry on, carry on, cause nothing really matters
to me
to me

Tinfoil, you’re right on time
Protect me from those waves
Mind is aching all the time
Goodbye everybody I've got to hide
Gotta leave you to these waves and face the truth
Terror, oh oh (anyway the lie goes)
I don't want to die
to die
to die
to die

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

I love it 😍

I would like to poach you for my one project if you are interested am not going to spam you with a link on your post that would be even ruder then doing this but if you are interested hit me up on discord and I will send you a link :)

hit me up I am @gnashster#6522 on Discord

I tried it would not let me add you :( i am tygertyger there as well ...and i will keep trying ...

Awesome collaboration! What fun. Great work, both of you!

Oh no! The most crazy part is left out. But im glad i put you up for this challenge and that it has madr your life difficult (thats a great compliment for a challenge!)

Looking forward to our next collab!

Ps. Will listen to it later when my brain has fully woken up...

This is beautiful Carl, well done. great lyrics by @nobyeni! I am so grateful that I will give you some Spammer Gold:

Screen Shot 2018-02-23 at 12.32.00 AM.pngScreen Shot 2018-02-23 at 12.39.21 AM.pngScreen Shot 2018-02-24 at 9.01.12 AM.pngScreen Shot 2018-03-07 at 5.50.19 PM.pngScreen Shot 2018-05-02 at 4.54.52 PM.pngScreen Shot 2018-05-06 at 8.23.07 PM.pngScreen Shot 2018-06-09 at 7.19.47 PM.png

Ok, you made me laugh really loud at the office. Your version is very cool! I could hear the moments you were almost tempted to fall back into the original. For people interested, here is the original cover for your free enjoyment on soundcloud. I'm still deciding on which one is better. But perhaps that's not fair, because, well, Queen.
Anyway, great job!

Thanks! Yeah of course I had to have a few nods to the original melody and song in places. This was a fun brain teaser for me :)

A very pointed, but humorous take the current state of our societies where so many seem to prefer mendacity to veracity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99