Wilderness Restoration Project... with Heavy Machinery!

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

Hi Friends!

I spent my day out up in the mountains by a beautiful river. Me and about 30 other volunteers helped to clear out invasive plants to protect the natural habitat of the area. We cleared out a deep rooted invasive species called sage brush that was choking the natural landscape - and threatening the wildlife in the area. This section of river is pivotal to the spawning salmon in spring and protecting this land will help ensure they make a successful run upriver.

A local construction company brought in 10 excavators to help accelerate the process! The owner of that company offered to teach me how to drive and use one! Needless to say, I had a lot of fun!

This video includes various footage from the day, including my time on the excavator and our lovely picnic lunch down by the river. Even though today had a 100% chance of rain - we were lucky that the heavy rain held off until we were almost finished working.

I hope you enjoy this video I put together from the day! I live in a beautiful area of the world and felt really proud to spend the day helping to preserve some of it's wild spaces. I also had a lot of fun volunteering with a few of my friends and getting to meet a bunch of new people!

XO, Lea

21D684CB-CA72-4207-9485-43D5D4994863.gif


Please support Dlive and stream this video through their service. Here is a YouTube link for anyone who needs it though.

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Haha Lea, that's cool.

You could have had this as your no. 9 song in My Life in 8 Songs...

hahah totally!! What a cute song. I love the artwork and the kid singing in the video!

That's awesome, Lea! The time-honored Northwest tradition of clearing Scotch Broom... quite possibly the world's most invasive plant. You done did a good thing, thumbs up!

haha I'm glad there's another Northwestener around to get what I'm talking about here! Scotch Broom is some crazy, gnarly stuff. I volunteered on this site last year and we just had some metal weed pullers and picks to get try and pull this stuff out. With the excavators this year - we cleared in 30 minutes what it took us to do in 3 hours last time! It was really cool to see how quickly we could work with some heavy machinery.

I enjoyed watching the video, really incredible.Logopit_1528359208583.jpg

This comment has received a 3.13 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @milaoz04.

Very pleased to upvote this one.

the most human beings are actually quite pleasant if you leave them alone and unpressured. Terry Pratchett

Thanks my friend!

You are always doing adventurious thing in your life that is great..
I saw the video it is wonderful like you..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99