[3D Art] A day in a life of a 3D Artist - working on a real-life project Live!

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

3D Art in action

Did you know that hardly any of Ikea's catalogue images is real? Even as a 3D Artist I was surprised: is it really that faster, more cost efficient and easier to achieve those digitally?

Ikea sample catalogue image

When you think about it, it makes sense! Otherwise, every new collection would require a construction of a physical room, different lighting and electrical fixtures - it's not that simple. Digitally, however, it doesn't take more than a week to create a photo realistic scene, while having the flexibility to re-arrange objects and adjust lighting within a click away!

3D Art streams

As a 3D/CGI artist, I often find that most people don't really realize how 3D Art works:

"Do you paint it by hand?"

"How do you make it look like a photo?"

"Apart from movies, who needs 3D?"

I have, therefore, decided to introduce a series of Dlive streams demonstrating my workflow, from the very beginning to the last touches. There is no better way to show this than on an on-going real-life project so let's get right to it!

Setting up the scene

In this stream we'll be working on a canteen/cafe area of a commercial development in Oceania.

Just like with any 3D scene, I'll start by:

1. Importing the base geometry,

2. Importing the main textures and setting up materials,

3. Replacing reference geometry with detailed models,

4. Setting up a basic lighting set-up for a client preview.

I hope you guys enjoy the stream! Shall you have any questions don't hesitate to drop my a comment below. Enjoy!

Coming up:

    Far Cry 5 walkthrough

    3D Artist workflow stream

    Unreal Engine 4 game environment creation streams

    My live stream is at DLive

    Sort:  

    In case you're wondering about my background music - I'm on my Queen phase :)

    I was about to ask the background music lol Thanks for the clarification :)

    Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

    To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

    Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

    Fiddlesticks! I just missed it, but am checking it out on the playback.

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.30
    TRX 0.12
    JST 0.034
    BTC 63960.62
    ETH 3142.95
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 3.95