Chocolate Walnut Banana Zucchini Buckwheat Muffins

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

I love baked goods (so much!) and was inspired by this organic buckwheat flour that I bought to create something delicious, nutritious, and most importantly, chocolatey!

It was fun to make these, so please cook along with me and let me know what you think! You might want to add more sweetener if you prefer a more dessert-like muffin, but I quite liked the natural sweet flavor from the banana.

RECIPE:
Preheat the oven to 350.

Mix together all of the below dry ingredients:
1 cup buckwheat flour*
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp stevia
dash of cinnamon
dash of sea salt

Mix together all of the below wet ingredients:
1 finely chopped zucchini
2 mashed ripe bananas
1 tsp vanilla
4 eggs

Combine and stir the above 2 bowls into 1 and then add in the below mix-ins:
1/2 c. chopped walnuts
1 chopped bar of Lindt 85% dark chocolate
2 tbs cacao nibs

Divide mixture into a greased 12-cup muffin tin and bake for approximately 12 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean when inserted into the middle.

If you follow Weight Watchers, I did a rough estimate, and they are approximately 4 points each. (Please don't bet the ranch on this, ha, but it's a good estimate! :) )

*I had so much fun prepping these muffins that I forgot to follow up on WHY I bought buckwheat flour! I few reasons:

  1. Buckwheat is gluten free! Ignore the word "wheat" in the name, it's actually a seed.
  2. It's so high in nutrients and antioxidants, it's considered a Superfood and can help you stay well.
  3. It's high in fiber and protein to help you feel full and satisfied longer.
  4. It is low on the glycemic index to keep your blood sugar and energy levels stable.
  5. It tastes good! I really like the nutty flavor.

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Looks strange at first. But, after reading the ingredients it appears appetizing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68